Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
New Member
suresh_290979
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 1 of 3 (253 Views)
Accepted Solution

measuring diameter in Navis

253 Views, 2 Replies
02-13-2014 03:15 AM

Hi,

i am new to Navis and i am using the true viewer Freedom 2014. i am unable to measure the diameter in the model. Kindly give idea to measure the dia and the distance between two diameters. i enable the sanpping option by click vertex, edge and line vertex.

 

Suresh

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,106
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 3 (248 Views)

Re: measuring diameter in Navis

02-13-2014 11:48 AM in reply to: suresh_290979

There is no means to measure diameter directly, since there are no curves.  For the most part, eyeballing to opposite edges should produce acceptable accuracy.  If precise measurements are required, hopefully the object will have the appropriate properties otherwise other software would be more suited.

 

You can get the distance between two curved surfaces with the closest-point measurement when the two objects are selected.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


New Member
suresh_290979
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-13-2014
Message 3 of 3 (238 Views)

Re: measuring diameter in Navis

02-14-2014 01:55 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Hi dgorsman,

 

thank you for your solution. From your reply, i came to know that how to take a shortest distance between the objects. So, by this i can manage the show. but, if able to directly measure the diameter in Navis, it would be fine.

 

Suresh

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community