Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,218
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 1 of 8 (978 Views)
Accepted Solution

TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

978 Views, 7 Replies
11-09-2010 09:24 AM

Users love to keep programs open "just incase I need it" but this ties up licenses.  Simulate licenses are more expense than the now-retired Review so its not cost effective to purchase more every time we run out.  The TIMEOUT feature in FlexLM licensing *really* needs to be implemented on these expensive products so those licenses not being actively used can be recovered for those that actually need them.

 

Yes, I realize this can be characterized as a management issue but I don't have time to constantly wander the office in jackboots making sure users are doing what they are supposed to...

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 2 of 8 (880 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

12-16-2010 02:22 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Hello dgorsman ,

 

This is a great suggestion. You should log this license functionality for our developers directly. Our enhancement request portal is here:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

Thank you for participating in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_discussion.png  

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,218
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 3 of 8 (855 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

12-20-2010 09:48 AM in reply to: dembkod

Already done.  This has become even more important with the implementation of cascading licenses.  Since we are running at near-total useage our single Manage license keeps cascading to support the "last" Simulate user.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
thniels
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-17-2008
Message 4 of 8 (772 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

01-07-2011 12:14 AM in reply to: dgorsman

This is a very good idea - we're with you on this one.

Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 5 of 8 (383 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

05-01-2012 04:34 AM in reply to: thniels

Is there anybody running 2013 that can confirm whether this has made its way in yet or not?

Employee
JeffH_ADSK
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Message 6 of 8 (352 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

05-17-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: FT398

Navisworks 2013 has been released with the TIMEOUT licensing feature included. The TIMEOUT will not operate if the application is launched via Automation, but in general use when Navisworks idles it should release the license as per usual rules.

 

Hope that helps,

 

Jeff



Senior Software Engineer
Navisworks
Autodesk Ltd.
New Member
jessewolfe84
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
Message 7 of 8 (232 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

11-13-2013 10:23 AM in reply to: JeffH_ADSK

Hi Jeff.

 

We tried this, and it is not reclaiming the license after the period defined in the options file. Are there any limitations to how this works? We are going to try again with a 30 min (1800) inactivity timeout and also resetting the license service, but in the meantime any input is appreciated.  We initially tested using this: 

 

TIMEOUT 86023NAVSIM_2013_0F 900
 
 
Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 8 of 8 (220 Views)

Re: TIMEOUT feature needed on licenses

11-14-2013 12:09 AM in reply to: jessewolfe84

I can confirm that the timeout feature works for us but we use the TIMEOUTALL feature rather than specifying each product.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.