Community
Navisworks Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Navisworks Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Navisworks topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quantification

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
duchoabn
1762 Views, 8 Replies

Quantification

Dear ALL

I'm new in navisworks, and I studying to quantification in navisworks 2014

Pl guide me to study quantification in navisworks, and guide me fix error below

navis 2.jpg

THANK ADVANCED

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
kenny.deemer
in reply to: duchoabn

Try going one level deeper in the selection tree. It seems to be picky on what actual objece/element is quantifiable.

The best solution is to get 2015 version, a few key updates mke the process much better.You can drag and drop the entire model tree to the items window effecively takig off the entire project. You also will have better controlof the item maps without the need of modifying the xml files.

Message 3 of 9

Thanks Kenny - you are of course correct. In 2014 you needed to select individual objects (or multiples) but couldn't select a parent in the selection tree and use this for takeoff. In 2015 we have enhanced the workflow so you can do this and make takeoff quicker. Hope this helps!

Thomas Schwaiger
Product Manager
Autodesk

Message 4 of 9
kenny.deemer

I think I got this thing cracked.

Three things make this thing hum.

Search Sets (argualbly this list could be Search Sets, Search Sets, and Search Sets)

Understanding Item mapping options

The exported pivot table

If you just want an automated model takeoff reminiscent of QTO your best bet is to export a 3DWF and then drag and drop the entire model to the takeoff pane. Then let the exel pivot table do the heavy lifting. However a DWF does notbring forward rich model data. If your designer added custom parameters that could better define your takeoff, your out of luck with a DWF.