Navisworks General Discussion

Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
New Member
cRAZY_Canuck
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-17-2012
Message 1 of 4 (354 Views)

Incorrect Measurements

354 Views, 3 Replies
09-17-2012 06:36 PM

I'm having issues in that there seems to be an odd scaling or miss measuring factor happening when I export models and open them in Navisworks.

 

The Autocad models themselves are in mm but when I try to measure the same objects in Navisworks the dimension is shown in meters and has no relation to the actual distance in the model turning 725mm into 19.05m.

 

It doesn't seem to matter what I'm exporting my models as from AutoCAD I get this issue, is there an export or import setting I'm missing or a NW setting that I can't find?

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,222
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 4 (329 Views)

Re: Incorrect Measurements

09-18-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: cRAZY_Canuck

Thats a scale factor of about 25.4 - I think there is some imperial conversion in there, maybe somebody updated the NWC cache file with their units set as inches?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
thuzz
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 3 of 4 (317 Views)

Re: Incorrect Measurements

09-19-2012 05:05 AM in reply to: cRAZY_Canuck

I had the same problem but changed the "model unit" to feet even when I use mm in Revit and measure in mm in Navisworks.

 

Don't know why it works but it does and the measurements is correct in Navisworks.

 

You change "model unit" by right clicking on the model in the selection tree and chose Units and Transform.

New Member
cRAZY_Canuck
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-17-2012
Message 4 of 4 (227 Views)

Re: Incorrect Measurements

10-07-2012 04:46 PM in reply to: thuzz

Thanks thuzz - changing the units to something and than back again fixed it, no idea why but it seems to fix it.

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.