Navisworks General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
RNDPIS
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 1 of 11 (434 Views)

INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPERY

434 Views, 10 Replies
07-21-2012 02:47 AM

When we are importing a CAD block in  a navis file we cannot see the entire tooltip with all properties parameter which are provided in a block such as Manufacturer Name,Model Name etc.The attached image shows only Name and Item Type.We need all the block's property in the Tooltip content in Navis Works interface.Is there a way out.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 11 (420 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-23-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: RNDPIS

Hi RNDPIS


Please check the following :

Open the properties tab in the selection tree and check the Properties tab.  Is the property available in Navisworks?  Another method would be to take a known value of a property and enter it in the quick find box in the Selection & Search Tab of the Home Tab.  If the property isn’t available, could you send a sample DWG?

If the property is listed but not showing up in the quick properties, ensure that you’ve added it under Application Button > Options > Interface > Quick Properties > Definitions.

If the property is there, and you’ve added a quick properties definition, then the issue may be the selection resolution.  There is a similar posting in this regard in the link below:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Navisworks/Select-objects-to-display-Quick-Properties/m-p/309...


Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
RNDPIS
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 3 of 11 (416 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-23-2012 09:39 PM in reply to: RNDPIS

Thanks for your support.

We have created the model with simple extrusion and added some custom property (Model, Manufacturer etc) and then it was converted to a block. In that case we want to show the customize properties in the navis interface. We have attached a png and the sample dwg block for your reference. We are waiting for your response.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,106
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 11 (406 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-24-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: RNDPIS

Properties, or attributes?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
RNDPIS
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 5 of 11 (393 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-25-2012 02:53 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Properties !

 

We have created the model and provide the parameter in to the model. Can we show these custom parameter property in Navisworks? Please see the attachments for the procedure on how to add the parameter in CAD dynamic block.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 11 (377 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-25-2012 05:09 PM in reply to: RNDPIS

Dear RNDPIS

I reproduced the same behavior. Unfortunately, properties created in this way don’t appear to be supported. 

However, you should be able to create block attributes instead in the block and these will be brought through the Attribute category in Navisworks when you select the VAV boxes.

Could you give this a try?

I recommend posting this as a wishlist item through our feedback page:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

Our development monitors the information that comes through this page, and coming from an end user, this offers a compelling business case.

Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
RNDPIS
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
Message 7 of 11 (373 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-25-2012 09:33 PM in reply to: RNDPIS

We are unable to find the Attribute category in Navisworks though we have added the attributes on the vav block. Please suggest.

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 8 of 11 (354 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-29-2012 07:22 PM in reply to: RNDPIS

Could you send the DWG of the block you added the attribute to?

I’ve attached TEST.DWG and a video showing how it was created.

1. I opened your DWG
2. Right-clicked your block to edit it
3. Created an attribute with the tag TEST_TAG set to be invisible and placed the attribute
4. I closed the block editor and saved the block
5. I deleted the existing block and ran insert to insert the new one
6. I was prompted for the value and set it to TEST_VAL
7. I opened the Test.dwg file and selected the geometry with the selection resolution set to first object and the Attributes tab in properties shows the attribute.
NW_Screen.png

Best regards,



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
awitt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 9 of 11 (345 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-30-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: RNDPIS

Did you run BATTMAN after you added the attributes?

Alumni
john.lipp
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 10 of 11 (341 Views)

Re: INCORPORATING ALL PROPERTIES OF A CAD BLOCK AS A TOOL TIP IN A NAVIS PROPER

07-30-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: RNDPIS

I edited the block, used the ATT command to add the attribute, saved the block and exited the block editor, deleted the existing and placed a new block instance which prompted me for the value of the attirbute. I didn't use BATTMAN



John Lipp
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Have API Questions?
New Dedicated Forum for Navisworks API

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community