.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
russ.green
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎02-27-2010
Message 1 of 8 (1,055 Views)

can't install wizard

1055 Views, 7 Replies
07-25-2010 05:16 AM

I have VS2008 pro on windows7 and I can't install the dotnet wizards.

 

I get an error message box with the title of Microsoft Visual Studio and the message saying "The operation could not be completed".

 

2011 .NET Wizards in is my list of installed programs but the folder is never created in program files and templates are not available in VS.

 

Any ideas?

Russ Green
Valued Mentor
Jeffrey_H
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 2 of 8 (1,044 Views)

Re: can't install wizard

07-25-2010 01:59 PM in reply to: russ.green

I had to turn off my anti-virus and set User Account Control to never Notify then restart computer then it would install.

 

This worked for the 2010 and 2011 wizards on windows 7 32bit 

It only only worked for the 2010 wizard on windows 7 64bit

 

You can also find your answers @ TheSwamp
Active Contributor
CADbloke
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Message 3 of 8 (978 Views)

Re: can't install wizard - 1 solution

09-20-2010 12:23 AM in reply to: Jeffrey_H

I couldn't install it either. After much frustration I found it was "blocked" in much the same way that CHM files are blocked when you copy them from another computer. To unblock it, right click - Properties - down at the bottom there is an "unblock" button. After I unblocked it the installation went fine. I hope this helps

Valued Mentor
Jeffrey_H
Posts: 372
Registered: ‎01-20-2010
Message 4 of 8 (975 Views)

Re: can't install wizard - 1 solution

09-20-2010 12:42 AM in reply to: CADbloke

I had turn off Anti-Virus and User Control and do what ewen posted to get it to work.

 

You can also find your answers @ TheSwamp
Active Contributor
CADbloke
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Message 5 of 8 (963 Views)

Re: can't install wizard - 1 solution

09-21-2010 03:44 AM in reply to: Jeffrey_H

Just to add to the confusion (both mine and yours) I changed my ID. CADbloke == ewen.

 

It may pay to do a little bit of homework on these wizards, rather than implicitly relying on them. This post by the inimitable Tony Tanzillo raises a good point ... http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/NET/2010-dotNET-Wizards/m-p/2599943#M16967

 

If you really want to add confusion, build it for multiple versions on 32 & 64 bit platforms from the same codebase. No, I don't have a definitive answer for that. yet.

Distinguished Contributor
mohnston
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎09-22-2006
Message 6 of 8 (948 Views)

Re: can't install wizard

09-21-2010 09:29 AM in reply to: russ.green

An alternative to turning off UAC, which  requires a reboot, is to right-click the install file and select Run as Administrator.

Or you could launch a command prompt window as administrator and launch from there.

Funny, even if you have administrator privileges you still need to do this for many functions. For example registering a dll or ocx.

CAD Programming Solutions
Active Contributor
CADbloke
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
Message 7 of 8 (939 Views)

Re: can't install wizard

09-21-2010 01:21 PM in reply to: mohnston

I *never* turn off UAC - I feel the advantages far outweigh the ocassional PITA like this one. The wizards installed just fine for me but only after "unblock"ing it (see message 3) in Win 7 x64. I didn't have to change the rights or compatibility either but I run as an admin user (yes, tsk tsk).

 

This all depends on what kind of user rights you are running under. If you're not running as Admin then yes, you should right-click and run as Admin.

Distinguished Contributor
area51visitor
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎03-05-2011
Message 8 of 8 (378 Views)

Re: can't install wizard

01-27-2013 04:47 AM in reply to: russ.green

Same error with windows 7 64 bit.  Run as admin was grey.  http://www.sourcecodestore.com/Article.aspx?ID=10

 

Fixed it.

- Brian
"Very funny, Scotty. Now beam down my clothes."

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community