.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is a Valid Value for the "Tolerance" parameter in "IntersectsWith" ?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
rmdw
1300 Views, 9 Replies

What is a Valid Value for the "Tolerance" parameter in "IntersectsWith" ?

I'm new to AutoCad programming with C# and am confused about something simple.  I'm trying to create a C# method that determines whether two 2D lines actually intersect.  So I started working with the code shown in the 4th comment here.  The problem with this code is that it extends each of the two lines to infinity so they always intersect unless they're parallel.  What I want is to determine if the two selected lines ACTUALLY intersect on the screen.

So I started building my own method to do this:

private static Point2d lineIntersects2D(Point2d spt1, Point2d ept1, Point2d spt2, Point2d ept2)
    {
      Line2d line1 = new Line2d(spt1, ept1);
      Line2d line2 = new Line2d(spt2, ept2);

return line1.IntersectWith(line2, *Tolerance*);
    }

But I can't figure out what precisely is the syntax for the Tolerance value.  I assume that it is equivalent to zero but don't know the format.

Can anyone help?

Robert

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
hgasty1001
in reply to: rmdw

Hi,

The tolerance is not 0, it can't be null if you need a working program, as rounding is always present in floating point operations. There are 2 types of tolerances in the API, one for comparing points, and one for comparing vectors, the first has a default to 1E-10 the second default to 1E-12 , if you sense the need to change some value (a perfect valid option) you can change its values in a new instance of the tolerance structure.

1.- Get the values

Tolerance.Global.EqualVector

Tolerance.Global.EqualPoint

2.- Set the values

Dim tol as Tolerance=new Tolerance(EqualVector Value,EqualPoint Value)

Gaston Nunez

Message 3 of 10
rmdw
in reply to: hgasty1001

Thank you for that, Gaston!