.NET

Reply
*AlmightySR
Message 1 of 22 (98 Views)

Visual Studio 2005 Beta

98 Views, 21 Replies
05-18-2005 04:30 AM
Thank god there is a dot net one now... Thank you Autodesk.


Anyone get Visual Studio 2005? Impressions?
*Jaime
Message 2 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 05:27 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
I'm still waiting for my beta copy to show up. Over the last month I have
been attempting the transistion from VB6 to .net.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎10-03-2003
Message 3 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 05:51 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
Depending upon you application, it works just fine for me.
*LFA Laurent
Message 4 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 06:50 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
Hi,
Visual Studio 2005 Beta or Sharpdevelopp, no crash with autocad for the
moment.
it' s will be good


--
Laurent Falla
LFA Consulting Limited (Civil Design & development)
www.lfaconsulting.com


"AlmightySR" a écrit dans le message de news:
4848629@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank god there is a dot net one now... Thank you Autodesk.


Anyone get Visual Studio 2005? Impressions?
*Mike Tuersley
Message 5 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 07:13 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
Apps done in Visual Studio 2005 that interface with
Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.IExtensionApplication will crash with AutoCAD
2006+. If you limit your code to interaction with graphics, it should be
okay. If you start getting odd errors with cad, back down to 2003

-- Mike
___________________________
Mike Tuersley
___________________________
the trick is to realize that there is no spoon...
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎11-19-2003
Message 6 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 07:18 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
The Version of #develop i have does not work with the managed wrapper classes of Autocad.
Visual C# Express Beta does work without any problems.

Roland
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 311
Registered: ‎07-29-2004
Message 7 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 08:59 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
Be sure to edit the acad.exe.config file to use the recommended version of dotnet. The default is to use the latest version and VS2005 will cause problems with 2006 based Autodesk based products.

I have heard of one person who could not run the layer command in 2006 (it is now a dot net ui) after installing VS2005. Editing acad.exe.config fixed the problem.
*Albert Szilvasy
Message 8 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 11:09 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
Hi Mike,

What error are you seeing? I have test apps here that use this interface and
they work fine even when I compile them with VS2005 Beta2.

Albert

"Mike Tuersley" wrote in message
news:4848908@discussion.autodesk.com...
Apps done in Visual Studio 2005 that interface with
Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.IExtensionApplication will crash with AutoCAD
2006+. If you limit your code to interaction with graphics, it should be
okay. If you start getting odd errors with cad, back down to 2003

-- Mike
___________________________
Mike Tuersley
___________________________
the trick is to realize that there is no spoon...
*Albert Szilvasy
Message 9 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 11:16 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
.NET 2.0 Beta2 is very close to being compatible with AutoCAD 2006 (previous
betas and CTP build had a lot more compatibility issues). If you develop
.net applications using VS2005 you *must* run AutoCAD on .NET 2.0 Beta2.

The only problem I'm aware of at this point is an annoying error dialog that
comes up when you run the layer command. The layer dialog will come up after
you hit Ok to the error dialog. This is a bug in .NET 2.0 Beta2 that MS has
already fixed in their internal builds according to their bug tracking
system:

http://lab.msdn.microsoft.com/productfeedback/viewfeedback.aspx?feedbackid=cfe99155-48bc-4180-adbc-81c33212cc12

Please let me know if you experience any other issues running AutoCAD on
.NET 2.0 Beta2.

Albert

wrote in message news:4849146@discussion.autodesk.com...
Be sure to edit the acad.exe.config file to use the recommended version of
dotnet. The default is to use the latest version and VS2005 will cause
problems with 2006 based Autodesk based products.

I have heard of one person who could not run the layer command in 2006 (it
is now a dot net ui) after installing VS2005. Editing acad.exe.config fixed
the problem.
*Ed Jobe
Message 10 of 22 (98 Views)

Re: Visual Studio 2005 Beta

05-18-2005 11:28 AM in reply to: *AlmightySR
Albert, just for clarification purposes, do you mean the framework when you
say ".Net 2.0 beta 2"?

--
----
Ed
----
"Albert Szilvasy" wrote in message
news:4849409@discussion.autodesk.com...
.NET 2.0 Beta2 is very close to being compatible with AutoCAD 2006 (previous
betas and CTP build had a lot more compatibility issues). If you develop
.net applications using VS2005 you *must* run AutoCAD on .NET 2.0 Beta2.

The only problem I'm aware of at this point is an annoying error dialog that
comes up when you run the layer command. The layer dialog will come up after
you hit Ok to the error dialog. This is a bug in .NET 2.0 Beta2 that MS has
already fixed in their internal builds according to their bug tracking
system:

http://lab.msdn.microsoft.com/productfeedback/viewfeedback.aspx?feedbackid=cfe99155-48bc-4180-adbc-81c33212cc12

Please let me know if you experience any other issues running AutoCAD on
.NET 2.0 Beta2.

Albert

wrote in message news:4849146@discussion.autodesk.com...
Be sure to edit the acad.exe.config file to use the recommended version of
dotnet. The default is to use the latest version and VS2005 will cause
problems with 2006 based Autodesk based products.

I have heard of one person who could not run the layer command in 2006 (it
is now a dot net ui) after installing VS2005. Editing acad.exe.config fixed
the problem.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community