.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
smccoywm
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 1 of 6 (385 Views)
Accepted Solution

SymBBAuto not working in 2014

385 Views, 5 Replies
06-13-2013 06:17 AM

I am trying to call the following line in VB.net but with the release of 2014 this piece of code no longer works.

 

symbb = odwg.Application.GetInterfaceObject("SymBBAuto.McadSymbolBBMgr.5")

 

Has anyone else experienced this or now of a fix?

 

Scott

Valued Contributor
amanero
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 2 of 6 (380 Views)

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Hello Scott,

 

Have you tried putting an "6" instead of the "5"?

 

Regards,

Luis Alberto Manero, Geograma.com
Valued Contributor
smccoywm
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 3 of 6 (370 Views)

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Thank you for the reply. I did try 6. In fact I tried all numbers 1 to 9 and no number works.

Valued Contributor
amanero
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 4 of 6 (368 Views)

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-13-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: smccoywm

I'm not sure but, have you seen this?

 

http://adndevblog.typepad.com/manufacturing/2012/07/sometimes-getinterfaceobjectsymbbautomcadsymbolb...

 

Luis Alberto Manero, Geograma.com
Valued Contributor
smccoywm
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 6 (339 Views)

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-14-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: smccoywm

Luis,

Thank you for the link. I tried to follow the instructions but I get the following error that GetInterfaceObject does not exist in AcadmAuto. That call only exists in basic AutoCAD and I cannot get AutoCAD interop to connect to symBBAuto even though I have sucessfully done it that way in the last 5 releases.

 

mAcmApp = (AcadmApplication)mAcadApp.GetInterfaceObject("AcadmAuto.AcadmApplication.2");

//Get symbol manager     
mSymMgr = (McadSymbolBBMgr)mAcadApp.GetInterfaceObject("SymBBAuto.McadSymbolBBMgr.4");   

 

Scott A. McCoy

Valued Contributor
smccoywm
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 6 of 6 (288 Views)

Re: SymBBAuto not working in 2014

06-26-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: smccoywm

Problem solved! Thanks to Wayne with AutoDesk. Turns out that when installing Acad 2014 the symBBAuto did not register. Running "AutoCAD 2014 installation path>\Acadm\enu\symbbautoreg.exe" did the trick. Hope this helps if anyone else encounters this problem.

 

Scott McCoy

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.