.NET

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Dale.Bartlett
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎01-06-2003
Message 1 of 4 (192 Views)
Accepted Solution

Save command defaults

192 Views, 3 Replies
01-02-2012 12:52 AM

Hi All, I have exhausted my searching, so here goes. I am looking for "best practice" example code for saving/re-using command default values from previous user input. Similar to lisp globals, but for C# (or VB.net); ie next time the command is run in a given session, the user's previous input is the default <>. I am currently using Properties.Settings to persist these values. Thanks, Dale 

Board Manager
StephenPreston
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎05-22-2006
Message 2 of 4 (184 Views)

Re: Save command defaults

01-02-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: Dale.Bartlett

I wouldn't say there is a definite best practice. There are several ways of doing this.

 

If you're not defining all your CommandClass CommandMethods as static/shared functions, then an instance of your class is created by AutoCAD for each document your command is run in. In that scenario, you can simply store your default values as member variables of your class. That way you're storing 'per document' data.

 

Alternatively, you can store 'per document' data using the Document.UserData property. 

 

Or if you want global (cross document) data, you can simply store settings in static/shared member variables for your class. 

 

Finally, if you're happy to use an installer that requires admin privileges to deploy your app, then you can make use of the Variable class from the Runtime namespace to create your own AutoCAD sysvars. (My recollection is that the registry data for this class has to be setup before AutoCAD launches, but you should check that).

 

 

Cheers,

Stephen Preston
Autodesk Developer Network
Valued Contributor
ognyandim
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 4 (169 Views)

Re: Save command defaults

01-02-2012 11:45 PM in reply to: Dale.Bartlett

In our apps we have solved this by the default app.config of the dll.

 

In VS right-click on the Project -> Properties -> Settings.

 

That way you will store your settings and have them back when you start Acad again.

 

Then you insert in your code :

 

using [YourNamespace].Properties;

 

// start input gathering

      PromptDoubleOptions LenghtOptions = new PromptDoubleOptions( "Enter lenght : " );
      LenghtOptions.UseDefaultValue = true;
      LenghtOptions.DefaultValue = Settings.Default.MyLenght;
      PromptDoubleResult LenghtResult = Ed.GetDouble( LenghtOptions );
      if ( LenghtResult.Status != PromptStatus.OK )
      {
        return;
      }
      Settings.Default.MyLenght= LenghtResult.Value;

      Settings.Default.Save( );

 

Distinguished Contributor
Dale.Bartlett
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎01-06-2003
Message 4 of 4 (143 Views)

Re: Save command defaults

01-03-2012 09:30 PM in reply to: Dale.Bartlett

Thanks for the replies. That is exactly the information I needed. I am currently using Settings.Default.Save to persist between sessions, which seems more logical to the user rather than "start again". The code sample will help me tidy mine a little. Regards, Dale  

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community