2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
chrnit
803 Views, 2 Replies

Plotting Document while other doc is open

Hi.
I've got a problem plotting a document.

At first, I'm new to AutoCAD and .NET.
So if I simply have missed something, it would be nice if you'd point me to the docs I've missed to read 😉

Now to my actual problem:
I'm writing an extension using .NET in C#.
The code should open a DWG, color some specific layer in a given color and plot the resulting drawing to a DWF file.

I've managed to open the DWG and color the layer.
I even managed to plott the active document to DWF.
Now here's the problem:
When I call my custom command, it will open the DWG in another window while the doc that was open before loading the DWG stays active. When I try to plot this document, this exception is thrown:
"Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.Exception: eLayoutNotCurrent"

To solve this problem, I tried to set the active document to the one I just opened:
Document doc = app.DocumentManager.Open( filePath, true );
app.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument = doc;

When this is run, execution of my code stops when AutoCAD switches the active window to that of my DWG.
Execution continues when I switch back to the window that was active when my command started.

How can I plot the drawing in the DWG?
There must be some way to do this...
Any help is really appreciated.

Best Regards
Christian Nitschkowski
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
cgay
in reply to: chrnit

Christian,

It would seem that your code is operating in the Document Context.
Of course, we would need to actually see it to fully explore this.
If this is indeed the case, you can add a Session attribute to your procedure to make it act in the Application context.
Be aware that you may need to lock the document to modify it though.

The definition of 'Session' is such, according to the ARX docs:
ACRX_CMD_SESSION