.NET

Reply
*Edward Bagby
Message 1 of 4 (93 Views)

Newbie

93 Views, 3 Replies
06-08-2005 09:15 AM
I've been using VBA and VB in 2000i for a few years, but never used DOTNET.
From what I understand, ACAD 2005 uses DOTNET, but I cant tell any
difference in the visual basic interface.

What am I missing?

Edward
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎10-03-2003
Message 2 of 4 (93 Views)

Re: Newbie

06-08-2005 10:59 AM in reply to: *Edward Bagby
If your using VBA or VB6 your coding style doesn't change a bit. With VB.NET you still can code the same as always but you have available now an API written for .NET which changes your coding style and has a slight learning curve. If your still using 2004 or older, you can't learn anything new. If your using 2005 or newer you can start learning the new .NET API by firing up a new Visual Studio windows application or class library and setting a reference to the acdbmgd.dll and acmgd.dll. You still have the COM Interop to fall back on if your in a time crunch. Speaking from my own experience, there is not a whole lot of difference when you get right down to it.

Download the provided examples http://discussion.autodesk.com/thread.jspa?threadID=406914 and get your feet wet, ask alot of questions.
*Edward Bagby
Message 3 of 4 (93 Views)

Re: Newbie

06-08-2005 11:46 AM in reply to: *Edward Bagby
Is DOTNET only something that can be done from Visual Studio, or can it also
be used like Visual Basic for Applications from within the AutoCAD
interface?

Edward


wrote in message news:4868979@discussion.autodesk.com...
If your using VBA or VB6 your coding style doesn't change a bit. With
VB.NET you still can code the same as always but you have available now an
API written for .NET which changes your coding style and has a slight
learning curve. If your still using 2004 or older, you can't learn anything
new. If your using 2005 or newer you can start learning the new .NET API by
firing up a new Visual Studio windows application or class library and
setting a reference to the acdbmgd.dll and acmgd.dll. You still have the
COM Interop to fall back on if your in a time crunch. Speaking from my own
experience, there is not a whole lot of difference when you get right down
to it.

Download the provided examples
http://discussion.autodesk.com/thread.jspa?threadID=406914 and get your feet
wet, ask alot of questions.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎10-03-2003
Message 4 of 4 (93 Views)

Re: Newbie

06-08-2005 12:34 PM in reply to: *Edward Bagby
Visual Studio is the easiest software to use. I don't use VBA and I don't think it will support the .NET framework anytime soon for a whole lot of reasons. You need to create a class library and compile a dll and do the NetLoad thing for it to work within the AutoCAD interface.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community