.NET

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
JanetDavidson
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 1 of 6 (208 Views)
Accepted Solution

How edit an Associatvie Array entity in 2012 Programmatically?

208 Views, 5 Replies
03-22-2012 09:37 AM

My plan is to edit an Associative array entity  Programmatically and I don't know where to start.

 

Why can't I cast a DBobject to AssocArray ?

something like this?

Dim myarray As AssocArray = TryCast(mydbobj, AssocArray)

 

Why TypeOf  dbobject  is BlockReference ?

 

Can I get some right direction Here Please? I stuck right at begining.

Thanks Janet.

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 750
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 2 of 6 (195 Views)

Re: How edit an Associatvie Array entity in 2012 Programmatically?

03-22-2012 03:17 PM in reply to: JanetDavidson

I haven't played with them yet, but if memory serves, I think Stephen Preston did a DevCast on the subject.

 

A quick search gave me this Through the Interface Post:

http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2011/11/creating-a-simple-associative...

 

Which also points to this TTIF post:

http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2011/03/new-apis-in-autocad-2012.html

 

The second post has links to download the DevTV session.

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Distinguished Contributor
JanetDavidson
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 3 of 6 (193 Views)

Re: How edit an Associatvie Array entity in 2012 Programmatically?

03-22-2012 03:39 PM in reply to: chiefbraincloud

Hello chief, 

Thanks for reply and helping me again .

 

I saw that and I was able to create them using that link. Now question is how could I edit them after they added to database. Because after I get DBobject  I can't even cast them to get the proper  class.

 

Distinguished Contributor
JanetDavidson
Posts: 139
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 4 of 6 (188 Views)

Re: How edit an Associatvie Array entity in 2012 Programmatically?

03-22-2012 04:24 PM in reply to: chiefbraincloud

Hello Chief . I knew you never make mistake. That is why I double check the second Link which was TTIF post. and I found what I want. Thanks again. Sorry I rushed to answer at first place.

Regards,

Janet.

 

*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 750
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 5 of 6 (186 Views)

Re: How edit an Associatvie Array entity in 2012 Programmatically?

03-22-2012 04:33 PM in reply to: JanetDavidson

Oh, believe me, I make mistakes.  Glad this wasn't one of those times. :smileywink:

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Valued Mentor
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎05-12-2009
Message 6 of 6 (183 Views)

Re: How edit an Associatvie Array entity in 2012 Programmatically?

03-22-2012 05:35 PM in reply to: chiefbraincloud

Here is one approach but might be a better way of doing it

 

http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=37921.msg464320#msg464320

 

but

AssocArray.GetParameters

modify parameters

Commit 

You can also find your answers @ TheSwamp

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community