.NET

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
muckmailer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
Message 1 of 26 (809 Views)

Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

809 Views, 25 Replies
04-29-2012 01:17 PM

I have been trying to connect to AutoCAD 2012 64 bit without any luck. for some time.

 

I have tryed Jerry Winters templates for autoCAD 2010 64 bit. No luck because it can't

find the working directory.  If I try to correct that problem I come up with other errors.

 

I have trying installing AutoCAD 2012 wizzard and I have no luck to get it working When I install

It says "Visual Studio Express 2008 or 2010 not installed "when I have VS 2008 allready installed on

my machine. Unblocking the file does not change anything.  Is a another dead end.

 

I have VS 2008 express install on my AutoCAD 2012 machine 64 bit. Can some give

a suggestion to make a VB.net connection to AutoCAD. Maybe a working sample program

works on AutoCAD 2012 (64 bit) would help. Maybe a 2012 template for AutoCAD 2012 (64bit)

to see if a can get some kind of AutoCAD connection.

 

Any suggestions, I am about to give up on this VB.net thing.

 

Thank you,

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 26 (804 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

04-29-2012 01:42 PM in reply to: muckmailer

Hi,

 

>> Maybe a working sample programworks on AutoCAD 2012 (64 bit) would help

At least you have samples within the ObjectARX-kit, there are samples for C++ and also for C# and VB.NET, look and download it from >>>here<<< ... it's free, but you have to register for it.

The only things you may have to change in these samples is the folder of the files referenced.

 

>> I have VS 2008 express install on my AutoCAD 2012 machine 64 bit

As AutoCAD 2012-libraries are based on Framework 4 you should follow the recomendations and you VisualStudio 2010 instead. Of course there are workarounds to get your code running and to be able to debug with Framework 3.5, but it's not designed for that.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
muckmailer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
Message 3 of 26 (761 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

04-30-2012 05:59 PM in reply to: muckmailer

Ok I downloaded the AutoCAD object ARX in the above link and installed it. I find a lot of *.dg files.

under the samples folder. Where are the VB.net sample files. When I create a new vb.net project

I usually use *.vbproj to start a project?  Please walk me through this? 

 

Also, If I install VS 2010 express. Is there an expiration date on it.  I think there is not a expiration date

on VS2008?

 

Thank you, 

Distinguished Contributor
muckmailer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
Message 4 of 26 (758 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

04-30-2012 06:27 PM in reply to: muckmailer

Ok so they are _dg folders but it looks like there are *.vbcprog files in them I guess those are

Net c files. Where are the vb.net project files?

Thank you,

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 26 (751 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

04-30-2012 08:16 PM in reply to: muckmailer

Hi,

 

>> Where are the vb.net project files?

search for *.VBPROJ ... that brings you to all subfolder from samples\dotNet

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
muckmailer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
Message 6 of 26 (741 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

05-01-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: muckmailer

I went into Dot Net folder and opened Helloworld project in VS 2008 and all I got was build errors.

I tryed Selectionset.vpproj with the same results. These programs form AutoDesk are not working.

So what is the next step?

Thank you,

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 26 (738 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

05-01-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: muckmailer

Hi,

 

>> These programs form AutoDesk are not working.

>> So what is the next step?

As the readme's tell you, have you updated the references?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
muckmailer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
Message 8 of 26 (733 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

05-01-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: muckmailer

Which readme file?

I looked in the Helloworld readme file in dot net folderl

It did not mention anything about referance files. It only talked about netloading.

So is there another readme file I should look at?

Thank you,

Distinguished Contributor
muckmailer
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
Message 9 of 26 (732 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

05-01-2012 12:05 PM in reply to: muckmailer

Here is a print screen of the Hello World program referances.

see file attachment.

Thank you,

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,880
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 26 (721 Views)

Re: Help Help Connecting VB.net to AutoCAD 2012. It's allmost impossable

05-01-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: muckmailer

Hi,

 

what I see is that you are running VS in normal mode (it has not started AutoCAD for debugging purposes) and in parallel you have startet AutoCAD. So if now you have your DLL loaded into this AutoCAD-instance you would not be able to compile as the DLL is currently locked/is in-use by AutoCAD.

 

I also see that your VS-project shows 1 error and 1 warning (lower left corner of your VS-AppWindow). As long as you have errors the usage of this project is useless.

 

>> So is there another readme file I should look at?

I think parallel to every single sample is a readme, start Windows-Explorer and go to the samples\dotNET\HelloWorld- directory:

 

 

If you have a problem getting VS-Express into AutoCAD-debugging-mode than look to >>>this blog<<<.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community