.NET
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ensuring compatibility between versions?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
doni49
397 Views, 7 Replies

Ensuring compatibility between versions?

I'm just getting started with using the APIs (Acad and Revit).  We use C3D 2014 and Revit 2014. 

I'm wondering how to go about best ensuring future compatibility (such as when some users get a new PC which will likely have the newer OS or when we upgrade to C3D 2016 and Revit 2016).

Don Ireland
Engineering Design Technician

If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

Please do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Keith.Brown
in reply to: doni49

The best way to insure compatibility is to use Autodesks auto loader and create a new dll whenever necessary. The auto loader will insure that the correct dll is loaded.

There are to many situations to describe when you might need a new dll. It is partly this reason why the auto loader was originally created.

If you google Autodesk auto loader white paper you will find all the information you need.
Message 3 of 8
doni49
in reply to: Keith.Brown

Keith,

Does this AutoLoader somehow build my app/extension (make a new DLL)?  From what I read, this AL seems like it is more to ensure that the right version of DLL is loaded.

My query is about making sure that my code stays compatibile (or as close as possible) upon OS/Platform upgrades.

Don Ireland

If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

Please do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given.