.NET

Reply
Active Contributor
brianaubert
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-22-2005
Message 1 of 8 (328 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dimension Association with VB

328 Views, 7 Replies
06-19-2012 11:27 AM

Hi All,

 

How do you Associate a dimension to a line using VB. I have not had any results searching for an example of this.

 

Thank you,

Brian

*Expert Elite*
Hallex
Posts: 1,569
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 2 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-19-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: brianaubert

Take a look at this code, not sure about if this helps, though

 http://forums.autodesk.com/autodesk/attachments/autodesk/152/24647/1/Parametric%20VB%20Net%20Code.tx...)

 

~'J'~

_____________________________________
C6309D9E0751D165D0934D0621DFF27919
Active Contributor
brianaubert
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-22-2005
Message 3 of 8 (313 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-19-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: brianaubert

Thanks for the response Hallex. I'll take a look at that.

 

I'm not looking for parametrics, just normal entities and associative dimensions.

 

I came across a post about reactors and using LISP, that I'm currently trying to hack something together in VB to operate with reactors. I'm not sure how this will turn out though.

 

Brian

*Expert Elite*
Hallex
Posts: 1,569
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 4 of 8 (306 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-19-2012 02:00 PM in reply to: brianaubert

Ok, I understand, but to create extension dictionary to set associativity

will be spend a lot of work

 

Here is simple way:

        [CommandMethod("assocdim")]
        public void CreateAssocDim()
        {
            Document doc = Autodesk.AutoCAD.ApplicationServices.Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument;
            Database db = doc.Database;
            Editor ed = doc.Editor;
            PromptEntityOptions peo = new PromptEntityOptions("\nSelect line: ");
            peo.SetRejectMessage("\nYou have to select line only!");
            peo.AddAllowedClass(typeof(Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.Line), true);
            PromptEntityResult res = ed.GetEntity(peo);
            if (res.Status != PromptStatus.OK) return;
            ObjectId id = res.ObjectId;

            using (Transaction trans = db.TransactionManager.StartTransaction())
            {
                try
                {

                    Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.Line ln = trans.GetObject(id, OpenMode.ForRead) as Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.Line;
                    Point3d p1 = ln.StartPoint;
                    Point3d p2 = ln.EndPoint;
                    Point3d txpt = p1;

                    Autodesk.AutoCAD.ApplicationServices.Application.SetSystemVariable("dimassoc", 2);

                    doc.SendStringToExecute("_dimlinear end " + p1.X.ToString() + "," + p1.Y.ToString() + "," + p1.Z.ToString() +
                        " end " + p2.X.ToString() + "," + p2.Y.ToString() + "," + p2.Z.ToString() + " " +
                            txpt.X.ToString() + " " + txpt.Y.ToString() + "," + txpt.Z.ToString() + " ", true, false, false);


                    trans.Commit();
                }

                catch (System.Exception ex)
                {
                    MessageBox.Show(ex.ToString());
                }
            }
        }

 If this is not enough so  say me about

 

~'J'~

_____________________________________
C6309D9E0751D165D0934D0621DFF27919
Valued Mentor
jeff
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎05-12-2009
Message 5 of 8 (296 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-19-2012 04:23 PM in reply to: Hallex

Does setting the DIMASSOC variable do wht you need?

You can also find your answers @ TheSwamp
*Expert Elite*
Hallex
Posts: 1,569
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 6 of 8 (285 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-19-2012 09:22 PM in reply to: jeff

Hi Jeff

The DIMASSOC variable doesn't affect creation of the associative dimension

usual way, unfortunately

 

~'J'~

_____________________________________
C6309D9E0751D165D0934D0621DFF27919
Active Contributor
brianaubert
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎03-22-2005
Message 7 of 8 (279 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-20-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: brianaubert

Thank you Hallex !

 

As you already know, I'm sure, that worked.

 

Nice and simple.

 

I've read many of your other posts to peoples questions and pick up on many things. Your a good guy to have on here.

 

I've been with Autocad since v2.17 and have programed with it extensively, but this .Net stuff is a real challenge to get the hang of.

 

Makes me feel like a Knob / Newbie again.

 

Thanks,

Brian

*Expert Elite*
Hallex
Posts: 1,569
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 8 of 8 (275 Views)

Re: Dimension Association with VB

06-20-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: brianaubert

Brian, thanks for your warm words

I'm happy if I can help,

Happy coding :smileyhappy:

 

~'J'~

_____________________________________
C6309D9E0751D165D0934D0621DFF27919

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community