.NET

Reply
Valued Contributor
ProfWolfMan
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-21-2010
Message 1 of 12 (2,164 Views)
Accepted Solution

DLL on STARTUP

2164 Views, 11 Replies
11-17-2010 09:04 PM

 

Hi all,
After reading some more posts here related with loading a dll file on startup,i done it as below.
1) Open regedit.exe
2) under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R17.1\ACAD-6001:409\Applications\
3) Add a key named "MY-DLL"
4) Add a string named "LOADER" with value of "C:\test\test1.dll"
5) Add a string named "DESCRIPTION" with value of "My first"
6) Add a DWORD named "LOADCTLS" with value of 2 ( to load on startup)
7)close regedit.exe
After this i will open my AutoCAD2008 and type my command.But test.dll not loaded and acad returns 'unknown command".
I try with netload, it works fine.
Please help me what is the problem with my approach?
I am using AutoCAD2008 in Windows Xp Proffessional service pack 2.
note: i also tried under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\..
Thanks & regards,
G

 

 

Thanks & Regards,
G
New Member
rok_p
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-18-2010
Message 2 of 12 (2,149 Views)
*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 3 of 12 (2,119 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-18-2010 12:39 PM in reply to: ProfWolfMan

The link provided there does contain the information you need, but basically what you have there looks fine to me, except you need one more key "MANAGED" = 1 DWORD

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Valued Contributor
ProfWolfMan
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-21-2010
Message 4 of 12 (2,107 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-18-2010 04:36 PM in reply to: chiefbraincloud

Hi,

 

After adding "MANAGED" dword with value of 1.

 

It is working very fine.:smileyhappy:

 

Thanks for the through the interface link on this topic.

 

Regards,

G

Thanks & Regards,
G
Active Member
rhinton
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 5 of 12 (2,078 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-19-2010 07:50 AM in reply to: ProfWolfMan

I don't see an "Applications" registry entry in version "R18.1".  Has this been dropped in version 2011?

*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 6 of 12 (2,065 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-19-2010 11:09 AM in reply to: rhinton

I have not installed 2011 yet, since none of my users have, but I can't imagine the functionality is gone.  I certainly didn't here anything about the method for Demand Loading changing.

 

If you are certain you are looking in the right place

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE  -or-

HKEY_CURRENT_USER

 

\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.1\ACAD-9001:409\  (the 9001:409 part is different for the verticals, and/or languages)

 

and you don't see Applications there, I would try adding it yourself.

 

 

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Active Member
rhinton
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 7 of 12 (2,060 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-19-2010 11:40 AM in reply to: ProfWolfMan

I've added the Applications key an still no autoload.  Attached is a screen shot.

 

*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 8 of 12 (2,051 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-19-2010 12:23 PM in reply to: rhinton

I just perused through all the comments on Kean's old post, and one person specifically asked if there was a difference in 2011.  This was keans reply:

 

The Registry key AutoCAD looks under has changed from R18.0 to R18.1. Otherwise everything is the same, and should work similarly.

 

That said, there was one other comment that might apply, that is to make sure you have Copy Local set to false for acmgd.dll and acdbmgd.dll.  (I tend to set it to false for all AutoCAD references)

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png
Active Member
rhinton
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-01-2009
Message 9 of 12 (1,992 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-22-2010 08:24 AM in reply to: chiefbraincloud

I looked thru Kean's post also and found the post you refered to.  However, he does not give the name of the new registry key.  I found a key named "AutodeskApps"  under R18.1 and added the entries there but still no autoload.

*Expert Elite*
chiefbraincloud
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎02-13-2008
Message 10 of 12 (1,975 Views)

Re: DLL on STARTUP

11-22-2010 11:24 AM in reply to: rhinton

I suppose he wasn't explicit, but I'm pretty sure he just meant that the version part (R18.1\ACAD-9001:409) had changed to reflect the new version info.  I don't think he meant they changed anything else about the path.

 

The AutodeskApps key you mention is present in 2010 and earlier, and the information I see there is not the same structure as the demand loading keys.

 

I am assuming through all of this, that your .dll functions as expected when you Netload it?

 

From the comments on the TTIF post, I see that you can NOT have the demand loading entries in both HKEY_CURRENT_USER and HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, you haven't done that have you?

Dave O.                                                                  Sig-Logos32.png

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community