.NET

Reply
Active Member
baw6718
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
Message 1 of 3 (369 Views)
Accepted Solution

Creating a polyline using distances between points.

369 Views, 2 Replies
09-25-2012 08:42 AM

Hello I am new to the .Net api. I am aware of creating a polyline and using .AddVertexAt() to give the points, my question is if I want to create a polyline in acad I generally will pick a point and then type out @10.5<0 or something similar of that nature to pick my next point. Is it possible to add vertices to a polyline in .Net giving it the distance and angle of one point2d to the next point2d?

 

Example:

 

acPoly.AddVertexAt(0, New Point2d(0,0),0,0,0)

acPoly.AddvertexAt(0, New Point2d(1,0),0,0,0)

 

but instead?

 

acPoly.AddVertexAt(0, New Point2d(0,0),0,0,0)

acPoly.AddVertex ( use code equivalent of  New Point2d = @10.5<0 from point at 0 index)

Valued Mentor
DiningPhilosopher
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 2 of 3 (356 Views)

Re: Creating a polyline using distances between points.

09-25-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: baw6718

Here's a few C# extension methods for Point3d that compute polar and spherical points relative to a given Point3d.

 

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;

namespace Autodesk.AutoCAD.Geometry
{
   public static class AcGeExtensions
   {
      /// 2D Polar specificiation (distance/angle)

      public static Point3d GetPointAt( this Point3d basepoint, double distance, double AngleInXYPlane )
      {
         return new Point3d(
            basepoint.X + ( distance * Math.Cos( AngleInXYPlane ) ),
            basepoint.Y + ( distance * Math.Sin( AngleInXYPlane ) ),
            basepoint.Z );
      }

      /// Spherical Coordinate (radius/phi/theta)
   
      public static Point3d GetPointAt( this Point3d center, double radius, double phi, double theta )
      {
         double phicos = Math.Cos( phi );
         return new Point3d(
            center.X + ( radius * phicos * Math.Cos( theta ) ),
            center.Y + ( radius * phicos * Math.Sin( theta ) ),
            center.Z + ( radius * Math.Sin( phi ) ) );
      }
   }
}

 

*Expert Elite*
norman.yuan
Posts: 959
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
Message 3 of 3 (351 Views)

Re: Creating a polyline using distances between points.

09-25-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: baw6718

It will depend on how you collect user input.

 

If you write code to get user input as a text string like "@10<0", then you have to first validate the text string to make sure it is in expected format and then you need to parse it into a number as distance and a number as angle. Then you can calculate the point, based on previous point, as shown in the other reply.

 

However, AutoCAD .NET API provides a built-in way to get point, which allows user to pick point, or enter point iin the standard AutoCAD input format (i.e. like "@10<0"). You do not need to do anything, the method returns the point. What the the magic method? it is:

 

Editor.GetPoint(PromptPointOptions options)

 

When you call this method with UseBasePoint option being true and BasePoint being specified, user can either pick a point or enter "@10<0" at command line. The method will give you a point back, spare you from doing geometric calculation.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community