.NET

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
GeeHaa
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 1 of 20 (644 Views)
Accepted Solution

Copy .plt files to a plotter

644 Views, 19 Replies
04-04-2012 12:36 PM

Hi

 

I'm trying to copy plot files to a plotter with filecopy(plotfile,\\server\plottername) it works fine when I have the UNC address but there are network printers without this address that I need to copy files too. I have the IP addresses of these printers.Is there a way to send a file to an IP address?

 

Thanks in advance

Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 2 of 20 (637 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-04-2012 01:56 PM in reply to: GeeHaa

I have used FTP to do this with several HP devices.  I think all hp printers support ftp.  You can test it from the dos prompt with the following 6 lines:

ftp <enter>

open printer.ip.address  
<login> user
<pword> guest
put "your printfile"

quit

If that works, you can code an ftp transfer using the system.net namespace.  Post back if you want an example.

Distinguished Contributor
GeeHaa
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 3 of 20 (631 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-04-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: fieldguy

Thanks very much for the response.

 

It lets me login but when I use the put command It gives me .550  the system cannot find the specified file.

 

Im using  Put C:\lisp\X.plt   I tried it with quotes also. But I would like to see the code.

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 4 of 20 (629 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-04-2012 03:29 PM in reply to: GeeHaa

OK.  I will post it in the morning - miller time now.

Try the script from the same folder (c:\lisp) with put "x.plt".

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 5 of 20 (618 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-04-2012 11:32 PM in reply to: GeeHaa

This might help you

 

From within DOS command:

net use LPT1 \\PrinterIpAddress\lpr

copy /b C:\temp\xxx.prn LPT1

 

or

lpr -S PrinterIpAddress -P printer -o l  c:\temp\xxx.prn

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
GeeHaa
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 6 of 20 (604 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-05-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: GeeHaa

I tried changing to the C:\lisp folder and using put "x.plt". Two lines come up, one says 200 Port command successful. The other says 550 The system cannot find the file specified . I tried using lpr but it comes up as an unrecognized command.

 

Thanks

Valued Mentor
fieldguy
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎03-31-2005
Message 7 of 20 (601 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-05-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: GeeHaa

I am having trouble (error 550) coding the script.  In other words, I can manually ftp using open and put, but error 550 is persistent in .NET.  I checked my other app and it uploads TIF images to a KIP printer without issue but the same code will not work with my hp laser.

 

There are examples on the internet (http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.php?t=468649) but I do not have the time to figure out why I cannot get that to work.

 

I am leaning towards the "net use" suggestion from SENL1362.  I have used LPR before as well but can't remember where it came from.

 

Sorry!

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
GeeHaa
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 8 of 20 (600 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-05-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: fieldguy

Oops the put command does work on HP plotters I was trying it on an Oce.

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 9 of 20 (587 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-05-2012 11:28 PM in reply to: GeeHaa

using XP? changes are you did not install the Print Services for Unix.

Add Windows components/other network file and print services.

You'll need the i386 part of the xp installation disc.

 

 

Mentor
SENL1362
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 10 of 20 (583 Views)

Re: Copy .plt files to a plotter

04-05-2012 11:38 PM in reply to: GeeHaa

did you verify the ipadress of the printer ?

try

ping <ipadress>

or

telnet <ipadress>

 

You can log in on these oce printers if you have a root password

telnet XXXXXXX
Trying XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX...
Connected to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX.
Escape character is '^]'.

Network Printer Server Version 5.6.3 (XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX)

login: root
Password: <root pw here>

Welcome root user

XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:root> list sysinfo

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community