Combining multiple drawings into a single drawing

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
catkinson89
877 Views, 5 Replies

Combining multiple drawings into a single drawing

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the AutoCAD API for .NET, and for the last month or so I've been googling about, looking for comprehensive documentation on the Autodesk API (their equivalent of man pages). I've yet to find anything that describes each method and class in the API, so I turn to these forums for help.

My goal is this: I'm trying to figure out how to copy the contents of all drawings in the same directory into a single dwg file. Has anyone done this before, and if so, what subsets of the AutoCAD API should I use to do so?

I'm not asking someone to write this for me, only to point me in the right direction.

On a sidenote, If anyone has knowledge of where to find complete documentation for the API, I'd appreciate it.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Hi,

I guess >>>that blog<<< contains the information (and most of the code) you look for 😉

>> where to find complete documentation for the API

The most complete documentation you'll find by downloading the ObjectARX-kit (from >>>here<<<, free, but to register). If it's just dotNET API (without a little left or right) you find it >>>here<<<. That is for 2010 (so ok for start), I haven't found an online-docu for 2013 yet.

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(not an Autodesk consultant)
Message 3 of 6

In addition that Alfred said I want to add this highly useful link to the blog: http://adndevblog.typepad.com/autocad

Insert Block from a different DWG using .NET

Adding an xref to a drawing (and converting attachments to overlays)