Did you mean: 

Blocks, attributes and selection sets

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
jaboone
4362 Views, 10 Replies

Blocks, attributes and selection sets

I am just getting into programming a dll inside acad.  Not sure this is the route to go since I have an data object that I need get and incorporate into my dll.  Is there any way to get an object inside a dll from another outside program?

I am trying to create a routine that asks for a selection set of lbocks (probably filtered i guess) then serches for a specific attribute tag, which would be a number, then to adds the set of blocks with that attribute value.

I have gotten to the part where it ask the user to select some elements which I will filter out the blocks (of many differant block names) the I want to look at a specific attribute tag and add them, if it is valid.  I have a sample which I am just beginning to debug.  The tag name is: DEVICENUMBER, the value is any number.  Could use some help from the experts.  The following code does not work for getting a selection set I need.

Public Sub GetSelection()
Dim ed As Editor = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument.Editor
Dim values() As TypedValue = {New TypedValue(DxfCode.Start, "BLOCK")}'this is where I am having the selection problem
Dim sfilter As New SelectionFilter(values) ' Create the filter using our values...
'Set the selection options
Dim SelOpts As New PromptSelectionOptions()

SelOpts.MessageForAdding = "Select elements:"
SelOpts.AllowDuplicates = True
'Make the selection:
Dim res As PromptSelectionResult = ed.GetSelection(SelOpts, sfilter)

If Not res.Status = PromptStatus.OK Then Return
Dim SS As Autodesk.AutoCAD.EditorInput.SelectionSet = res.Value
Dim idarray As ObjectId() = SS.GetObjectIds()
Dim db As Database = Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument.Database
Dim tm As Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices.TransactionManager = db.TransactionManager
Dim myT As Transaction = tm.StartTransaction()

Try
Dim id As ObjectId