.NET

Reply
Member
jain.diptee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 1 of 4 (159 Views)

AutoCAD2013 COM errors

159 Views, 3 Replies
04-24-2013 04:51 PM

Hi I have a C# wrapper aorund AutoCAD that open autoCAD, loads a model and runs it and saves the data. The applicaitons runs fine on my system ( windows 7 , 64 bit) but fails on another system( windows 7, 64 bit). I get the following error message:

 

Error (Unable to cast COM object of type 'System.__ComObject' to interface type 'NBench.AutoCAD2014.IBenchmarkPlugin'. This operation failed because the QueryInterface call on the COM component for the interface with IID '{076C9B22-3196-4F6C-B416-42517384A774}' failed due to the following error: No such interface supported (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80004002 (E_NOINTERFACE))

 

I dont get this since it runs on fine on another system. both use .NET 4.0. On the failing system, the application is able to open the AutoCAd, load the model but then it crashes instead of running it. 

 

Can anyone have any ideas for this random error?

Thanks!

Valued Mentor
DiningPhilosopher
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 2 of 4 (139 Views)

Re: AutoCAD2013 COM errors

04-24-2013 10:12 PM in reply to: jain.diptee

AutoCAD COM is version-specific, so you have to compile against the COM libraries for the release being targeted, and if there is a newer release on the system, then you have to use Version-dependent progids (e.g., AutoCAD.Application.18.x), and if multiple releases are installed, you have explicitly start the one whose COM wrappers your app was compiled with).

Member
jain.diptee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 3 of 4 (101 Views)

Re: AutoCAD2013 COM errors

04-30-2013 09:00 AM in reply to: DiningPhilosopher

I am doing that. I recompile the wrapper for the current version. Still doesnt work. The wrapper is able to open AutoCAD and launch a model and then it crashes. It does not spin it. Any other ideas? One other thing, if i kick the run off from inside the visual studio i.e. through the debug control, the execution runs fine. Could this be a threading or messaging issue? I am really at wits end. Some help would be really good

Valued Mentor
DiningPhilosopher
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 4 of 4 (83 Views)

Re: AutoCAD2013 COM errors

04-30-2013 06:52 PM in reply to: jain.diptee

What other Autodesk software is installed on the problem system.

 

As I understand it, the presense and use of some other Autodesk products can cause problems with COM clients.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community