.NET

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 1 of 7 (251 Views)

AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

251 Views, 6 Replies
06-25-2012 09:33 AM

Greetings, AutoCAD crashes when I do the following:

 

File | New Project | WPF User Control Library

 

Drag a Telerik RadWatermarkTextBox onto a Window design surface.

 

Build the project | Netload the assembly | Run a command that attempts to open the Window.

 

If I comment out the XAML for the RadWatermarkTextBox, the window will open without crashing AutoCAD.

 

Also, I can programmatically created the RadWatermarkTextBox in code and add it as a child of the Window's grid.  If I run in debug mode, the window will open and AutoCAD doesn't crash.  But AutoCAD does crash if the code isn't run in debug mode.  And it crashes either in either debug or non-debug mode for the XAML.

 

Any ideas?  THANKS!

 

dmpuserinfo.xml contains the following stack dump:

 

<AppCDATA><![CDATA[Command: OD;Netload;Commandline;Ribbon
Clr Data:
at acadUnhandledExceptionFilter(_EXCEPTION_POINTERS* )
at acadUnhandledExceptionFilter(_EXCEPTION_POINTERS* )
at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.UnhandledExceptionFilter.Filter(_EXCEPTION_POINTERS* ep)
at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.CommandClass.InvokeWorkerWithExceptionFilter(MethodInfo mi, Object commandObject, Boolean bLispFunction)
at System.Windows.Markup.WpfXamlLoader.Load(XamlReader xamlReader, IXamlObjectWriterFactory writerFactory, Boolean skipJournaledProperties, Object rootObject, XamlObjectWriterSettings settings, Uri baseUri)
at System.Windows.Markup.WpfXamlLoader.LoadBaml(XamlReader xamlReader, Boolean skipJournaledProperties, Object rootObject, XamlAccessLevel accessLevel, Uri baseUri)
at System.Windows.Markup.XamlReader.LoadBaml(Stream stream, ParserContext parserContext, Object parent, Boolean closeStream)
at System.Windows.Application.LoadComponent(Object component, Uri resourceLocator)
at ConMetAutoCadLibrary.Window1.InitializeComponent() in c:\VS\AutoCAD\Code\Dev\AutoCadLibrary\ConMetAutoCadLibrary\Window1.xaml:line 1
at ConMetAutoCadLibrary.Window1..ctor() in C:\VS\AutoCAD\Code\Dev\AutoCadLibrary\ConMetAutoCadLibrary\Window1.xaml.cs:line 20
at AutoCadLibrary.ScratchPad.OpenDrawing() in C:\VS\AutoCAD\Code\Dev\AutoCadLibrary\ConMetAutoCadLibrary\ScratchPad.cs:line 34
at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.CommandClass.InvokeWorker(MethodInfo mi, Object commandObject, Boolean bLispFunction)
at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.CommandClass.InvokeWorkerWithExceptionFilter(MethodInfo mi, Object commandObject, Boolean bLispFunction)
at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.PerDocumentCommandClass.Invoke(MethodInfo mi, Boolean bLispFunction)
at Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime.CommandClass.CommandThunk.Invoke()
]]></AppCDATA>

 

Running AutoCAD 2011 SP1.  I also see the same behavior when using a Telerik RadGridView.

 

Again, thanks for the help.

Active Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 2 of 7 (216 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

06-26-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: calvindale

This issue can be addressed by copying the Telerik DLLs into the directory where the main executable (acad.exe) is located.  But that approach is not especially elegant or development friendly.  Does anyone know of a better way?

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 701
Registered: ‎01-24-2003
Message 3 of 7 (208 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

06-26-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: calvindale

What if you added the Telerik path to the Reference Paths tab of your project properties?

Active Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 4 of 7 (203 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

06-26-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: eljobe

Thanks for the idea,

 

Unfortunately, I get the following error after adding the reference paths (and removing the Telerik DLLs from the acad.exe directory).

 

Initialization of 'Telerik.Windows.Controls.GridViewDataColumn' threw an exception.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 701
Registered: ‎01-24-2003
Message 5 of 7 (198 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

06-26-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: calvindale

I've never used those controls. At what point do you get the error? Do you get the error with other projects? Maybe you shoud contact Telerik?

Active Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 6 of 7 (192 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

06-26-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: eljobe

Telerik indicated that they hadn't tested their controls with AutoCAD.  I have never previously used the Reference Paths tab of the C# project properties.  But after a brief persual of this topic on MSDN, I gather that I shouldn't need to explicitly refer to the paths since I'm referencing them with Copy Local set to true.

 

The error message appears when I attempt to execute a command that displays a dialog form containing the Telerik control.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 701
Registered: ‎01-24-2003
Message 7 of 7 (190 Views)

Re: AutoCAD crashes when Telerik controls are used

06-26-2012 02:23 PM in reply to: calvindale

I was just going of the fact that you said changing the path fixed it.

 

Try a test. Can you create a form that doesn't rely on acad, then change your project type to an exe and set the form as the startup object. That should tell you if the controls will initialize at all.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community