Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tangle Toy Modelling Problem

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
613 Views, 3 Replies

Tangle Toy Modelling Problem

Hi,

I am a student of architecture and am working on a project in which I am having trouble creating in 3ds Max. The structure I am trying to make is based on a "tangle toy" (pictures attached), which consists of quarter circle modules that twist to create different shapes. I am trying to recreate this system in 3ds max, making Arcs of 90degrees and connecting the ends so that I am able to pull the parts around to create different shapes.

I have experimented using a simple rigging system of forward kinematics (I am not an advanced user of 3ds max so had to do a lot of research on this!), but this will not allow me to close the loop due to the obvious dependency issues. Does anyone know of a way to create a closed loop connection system in which I would be able to pull the parts around without distorting the individual modules?

Any ideas or solutions would be greatly appreciated!
Kind Regards,
Nic

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
luxxeon
in reply to: Anonymous