Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NURBS problem in spaceship project, need quick help.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
228 Views, 4 Replies

NURBS problem in spaceship project, need quick help.

I'm new to NURBS and I got this problem with depth on a flat or "very thin" NURBS surface, if I had the original lofting curve I could scale it down and then loft it with the corresponding isoparm but I deleted i so what could I do to fix this?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
fianna
in reply to: Anonymous

Hey Adrian, yeah it would help to see the curve..maybe it needs a few more points. but in the meantime, you can try grabbing one of the surfaces and (Ctrl+a) in the Attribute Editor, check under Tessellation > hit Display Render Tessellation. You will see how the surface is being rendered in the hardware viewport. If you collapse Simple Tessellation Options, change the Curvature Tolerance to "Highest Quality" and increase the U+V divisions factor to 5. It should be more refined. Feel free to further tweak the settings till you're happy with the results.

BUT** once you're done (with all the other surfaces as well), remember to uncheck "Display Render Tessellation" unless you want your computer to be unhappy(ily slow). When you have the Display Render Tess turned off, you'll go back to the normal hardware view...but rest assured those settings that you modified are still there and it'll still render smooth surfaces.

hope that helps.
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous

OMG thanks a lot, I just inserted isoparms to fix it but that method you mentioned is much easier and faster, btw now I got this new problem as you can see I updated the topic.
Message 4 of 5
fianna