Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Marked Seams Disappearing When Editing Verts on Editable Poly

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
3919 Views, 6 Replies

Marked Seams Disappearing When Editing Verts on Editable Poly

I am still a beginner with Max, I started learning it a month ago, so forgive me if I do not make sense.

I would like to be able to edit my swords geometry after I have already started the process of Unwrapping via point to point seams, without losing all the seams I have created. Is this possible?

I created an editable poly, above it in the stack is an Unwrap UVW, which I have unticked "map seams" so I do not see the green seams. I then went around my model marking with point to point seams, I noticed some geometry I could clean up, I went back to the editable poly and fixed the geometry, when I went back to the Unwrap UVW all my marked seams were gone!

I redid this same scenario 4 more times, trying something different each time to see if I could work around it, but I have not been able to, my seams keep disappearing, could someone please help me?

Thanks,

Sherie

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

In editable poly, there is a ticker to "preserve uv".  Did you have this enabled?  Preserve UVs will allow you to move point and edges that are not on the edge of a UV island.

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous

Does the tick box "preserve uvs" need to be ticked before I add the Unwrap UVW modifier?
As a test earlier I selected "Editable Poly" in the stack, selected yes when I got the warning about the UV's, then I went and put a tick in the "preserve uvs" deleted my vertices, but when I went back to "Unwrap UVW" all of my blue point-to-point seams that I had created earlier are not showing.
Message 4 of 7
blakestone