Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to I make a face or faces here?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
JohnLancaster
1244 Views, 5 Replies

How to I make a face or faces here?

I need to put a face or faces on the bottom of this chest, and I'm not really sure how, I'm still learning all the modeling tools. 

I need to put a face on the bottom of this that is connected to all the vertexex.

chest bottom.png

Failrly detailed instuctions would be nice. 

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Select the edges down 2 parallel sides and then go to "Edit Mesh" and select "bridge" (to adapt the settings click the box next to it and set the faces to 0) if you want to keep up topolgy go back to "edit mesh" and select the interactive split tool (can also go to your modelling tool kit and select the "multi cut" tool, using either of these select the vertex of the side that you didn't select to create a bridge and then click the vertex on the opposing side, click enter to complete this and then repeat down the line. This will just ensure that the lines are all conected properly. 

If that's a little bit bundled just let me know, I could probably find some screenshots of what I mean

Message 3 of 6

"interactive split tool"
There is no such tool to be found in maya 2015
"multi cut tool"
only works on existing geometry, it wont work across an empty void.  
"Bridge tool"
will not do anything, it just smaks an error in the console. I used it exaclty as you said.  
// Error: file: D:/Program_Files/autodesk/Maya/Maya2015/scripts/others/drInit.mel line 4271: Invalid Selection. The number of components in the selected regions must be the same.

nothing I've tried has worked.

EDIT: Just checked to make sure my edges are not accidentally double, they're not. Still having issue.

Message 4 of 6
damaggio