Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Edge loop gives hard edge-like artifacts

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
1671 Views, 4 Replies

Edge loop gives hard edge-like artifacts

Hi,

I'm fairly new to modelling (wouldn't say complete beginner), but have come across an error I can't seem to find an answer for.

When using the edge loop tool on an object that was modelled from a standard sphere, it seems to give 'hard edge' like artefacts along the edge. Without it has an expected rounded like appareance.

I have attached two pictures of the effect, with and without the edge loops.

Have tried unlocking normals and soften edges without difference. Even importing it into Unity game engine and not importing the normals still has the effect (though there might be a slight difference).

Have tried using the crease tool to remove creasing from thoughes areas without effect.

Have tried going into the Insert edge loop tool properties and changing smoothing angle to 180 before adding loops, without effect.

Have tired ensuring entire model is in quads (as it previously had the poles of the sphere), which just made it worse as the hard edge loops travelled all around the model.

Please help me if you can, Maya is really becoming a chore, I don't understand how such a popular program can be so un-intuative. All I have had is an uphill struggle trying to produce anything with it.

Thank you.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

FYI, I have taken a screen shot of soft/hard edges to display that they are indeed supose to look 'soft'.

Message 3 of 5
damaggio

Seems to me that the fact that the edge loops are close to other edges it will give you the appearance of them beeing harder, they should be evenly spaced out to look smooth.