Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing order of construction history?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Uniel
1187 Views, 7 Replies

Changing order of construction history?

Hello,

I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I haven't been able to find any answers to this question.

I'm very new to Maya and to this forum, and I'm evaluating the software, because of the cancellation of Softimage, which is the Software I use.

Say I've made a polygon model which I, when I'm happy with it, have deformed by bending it or a by a lattice and/or any other deformer. Later I realize that I need to do some re-modeling on the mesh. These changes will automatically end up after my deformers in history. Is there a way to keep or move the deformers in history to have them evaluated last.

Below is a very simplified Example:

1. This is how I do it in Softimage, we start with a cylinder (this represents the model I'm happy with):

stack01.jpg

2. Next I add a bend deformer to the cylinder, of course the bend isn't very nice, because there's not enough geometry to define it.

stack02.jpg

3. I add some edge loops (this would represent the re-modeling), but realize that the cylinder's shape hasn't improved much, because I added the edge loops after I applied the bend deformer.stack03.jpg

4. This is the important step, and it's simply done by moving the "Bend Op" to the top of the stack. Now the bend is looking much nicer.

stack04.jpg

Surely the order of the construction history can be re-arranged in Maya? Please help.

Thank you!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
sharp3d
in reply to: Uniel

Good question! C4D is like this. Maya's hypergraph eludes me (so far). 

Message 3 of 8
Uniel