Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Boolean problem when subtracting

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
ingbertwolter
2357 Views, 8 Replies

Boolean problem when subtracting

When I import a cube from another 3d-application (3DCrafter) and try to subtract a cube generated in 3dsMax I get an incorrect subtraction.  Only the front and back are cut out and I can see into a hollow box. Doing the same with both cubes generated in 3dsMax a correct subtraction (tunnel) is generated. What am I doing wrong?

Images: Test_1: Imported Cube with 2nd cube generated in 3dsMax

Test_2: Result after Boolean subtraction

Test_4: First cube (large) and 2nd cube (small) generated in 3dsMax: Correct result

Remark: I am new to 3dsMax, so excuse my question and ignorance...Smiley Sad

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Imported box is inside out. Try this as a test:-
Create the big box (in Max), convert to Editable Poly. Select all of its Polygons and Flip them. Create the longer one and do the boolean - same results as in your image.

Max 2016 (SP1/EXT1)
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 430.86).

Message 3 of 9

I tried it and it worked as you described. But flipping the polygons in my imported cube didn’t make a difference, it’s still not a tunnel. I guess the exporting from 3DCrafter or the importing into 3dsMax screws someting up. I tried an export and import in another format and this time the Boolean was o.k. But unfortumately I lost the materials and the textures exporting in that different format.
Message 4 of 9

Different file formats have different capabilities. FBX should retain simple materials, many others don't.