Mechanical Desktop

Reply
Contributor
hazybark
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-22-2000
Message 1 of 15 (2,813 Views)

MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

2813 Views, 14 Replies
11-14-2009 06:16 PM
Has anyone got experience or success with the following....

1.A) Successfuly running MDT 2009 on XP 64 Bit Proffesional with 3rd party virtual machine software to run other 32 Bit software?

1.B) Successfuly unning MDT 2009 on Vista 64 Bit Ulimate with 3rd party virtual machine software to run other 32 Bit software?

2) Magically able to run MDT 2009 on Windows 7 64 Bit Professional with using its Windows XP virtual machine software to run other 32 Bit software?

For family of parts modelling/variations of a theme, I use MDT 2009's assembly centric capability, using macros to simultaneously update (family tables) hundreds of parameter/design variable driven master models - Dynamicaly updates 100's of layouts in seconds. Quicker to do in 2D Autocad than in 3D inventor? I don't want to go backwards.

Please Autodesk show me a better way?... other than treating long-term subscription customers as objects. If I am forced to use Inventor or other software my productivity gains will go back from project completion in 2 hours back to 2 weeks.

I need to wrap this project up for my client before year end.

Thanks in anticipation!

Daryl
Drafting Contractor - South Australia
Contract free from January 2010
hazybark@cadils.com.au
Active Member
syl13
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2007
Message 2 of 15 (2,813 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

11-26-2009 09:49 AM in reply to: hazybark
Daryl, we are communly using MDT 2009 on XP 61 BIT pro (9 seat) and 1 seat under window 7 64 bits. However we are nut running with a 3rd party virtual machine software, like you ask.

All of them running good. The unly problem we are living is with bolt installation. Whorkink ok 50% of the time. The unly way to contour this problem, is the start a second session of MDT, create the bolt connection you need, and CTL C / CTL V un the first session.

Best regard

syl.
Mentor
aguitton116
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 3 of 15 (2,812 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

01-15-2010 02:40 AM in reply to: hazybark
Hi syl13,
how did you manage to install MDT 2009 on Windows 7 64b ? (or at least manage to do it work) I'm also interested :smileyhappy:

Thanks in advance.

Arnaud
Active Member
syl13
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2007
Message 4 of 15 (2,811 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

01-25-2010 03:27 PM in reply to: hazybark
Hi Arnaud,

I did the installation the same way.
However, the promlem to uncontour is the printing driver. You must have the right driver, otherwise mcd will crash at printing.

best regard.

syl13
Mentor
aguitton116
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 5 of 15 (2,811 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

02-04-2010 03:04 AM in reply to: hazybark
Hi, I finally got time to try an installation of MDT on windows 7 64 bits and I have a critical error which ends the installation without explanation (result 1603...).
If I install it on a virtual machine, I won't be able to convert MDT files to Inventor format because I think the computer will not think that the 2 softwares are on the same machine (as the virtual one is considered as a separate machine).

Did you do something special ? (or maybe have an idea ?)
*Roger Mollon \(Autodesk\)
Message 6 of 15 (2,811 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

02-04-2010 06:51 AM in reply to: hazybark
If you haven't yet, you should check out Dennis Jeffrey's advice on avoiding
install problems here;

http://teknigroup.com/tutorials/InstallAdsk2009.html

It applies to Inventor and MDT. You can also do a search for error 1603 in
the Inventor discussion group to find other discussions on the topic.

I hope this helps,
Roger Mollon
MFG - Novi
Autodesk, Inc.

wrote in message news:6330143@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi, I finally got time to try an installation of MDT on windows 7 64 bits
and I have a critical error which ends the installation without explanation
(result 1603...).
If I install it on a virtual machine, I won't be able to convert MDT files
to Inventor format because I think the computer will not think that the 2
softwares are on the same machine (as the virtual one is considered as a
separate machine).

Did you do something special ? (or maybe have an idea ?)
Mentor
aguitton116
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 7 of 15 (2,811 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

02-04-2010 07:42 AM in reply to: hazybark
Thanks for the answer, I think it will help a bit.

I also read something on the read me and now I feel so stupid : on 64 bits machines, I have to extract the 2 zip files on the same folder... I think it will be better. I keep you aware :smileywink:
Mentor
aguitton116
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎03-14-2008
Message 8 of 15 (2,812 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

02-04-2010 08:06 AM in reply to: hazybark
That's OK guys, I can now launch MDT !! Thanks again for your involvment. I just have a problem now to borrow a license but it's not really an issue for me.
*Alex
Message 9 of 15 (2,812 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

02-26-2010 08:05 AM in reply to: hazybark
Is that possible to install virtual machine software Win7 64 bits on
computer hard drive with WinXp 32 bits & Nvidia 32 bit driver & all 32 bits
drivers preinstalled?

Al


wrote in message news:6295709@discussion.autodesk.com...
Daryl, we are communly using MDT 2009 on XP 61 BIT pro (9 seat) and 1 seat
under window 7 64 bits. However we are nut running with a 3rd party virtual
machine software, like you ask.

All of them running good. The unly problem we are living is with bolt
installation. Whorkink ok 50% of the time. The unly way to contour this
problem, is the start a second session of MDT, create the bolt connection
you need, and CTL C / CTL V un the first session.

Best regard

syl.
New Member
dpeynado1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 10 of 15 (2,812 Views)

Re: MDT 2009 ON 64BIT MACHINES

03-11-2010 02:10 PM in reply to: hazybark
Hello, I have tried with all my might to install Autodesk Mechanical Desktop 2009 on our Designing PC running Windows 7 Pro 64bit with AutoDesk Inventory Pro Suite 2010 already installed (including AutoCAD Mechanical 2010), but after downloading the 2 zip files, extracting them to the same folder and installing it, the installer crashes saying wrong device or something.

If I go into the x64 directory and install Mechanical Desktop from there it will install, but then it seems to reference AutoCAD Mechanical files that it needs to run from a wrong directory and says cannot load a variety of files and throws exceptions and then it crashes. When I check the path of the files, it is looking for the folder "acadm" but the only "acadm 2010" exists with the files it is looking for. I even tired creating the directory and copying the files there, no go.

I installed with the local administrator account (we are networked here) and turned off windows firewall and windows defender and UAC. I haven't installed a antivirus yet. I even tried installing in Vista SP2 compatibility mode... same thing.

How did you get it to install and work?
Can someone show me the way... like Jesus or something?... just joking, but seriously.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community