Announcements
IMPORTANT. Forum to be archived in several phases. You can no longer submit new questions - but can only answer existing threads until Oct 17th 2016. Please read this message for details
Mechanical Desktop (Read Only)
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

20 years of creating dwg files

18 REPLIES 18
Message 1 of 19
mach9design
5231 Views, 18 Replies

20 years of creating dwg files

I have been using 2D CAD since 1992 & Mechanical Desktop for 10 years, that’s 20 years of *.dwg files. We still open and edit some of the old drawing files to create new tools & fixtures. We have Inventor 5 series but choose not to use it as it is not an efficient way of working.

Many of our customers, mostly in the Nuclear industry use AutoCAD 2D or LT. Approximately 20% use Inventor or another modelling package, usually we find ways of converting the files, but generally end up with surfaces using *.iges or basic parts with no parametric history using *.step.

My dilemma is if I upgrade my software I feel that I will be using my old software 90% of the time.

What do I do: Upgrade to Inventor Suite – or stay a dinosaur working efficiently with one system.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
psm
Contributor
in reply to: mach9design

Are you using MDT2009 -64 bit? The performance is unlimited and would be fast even the year of 2020 in my opinion. We are exporting all our drawing to .dwg from MDT and this is our final archive. We are then adding the partlist in 2d cad.

When we arguing about non connected drawings I ask: what time is it to open this plant with 50 000 parts in 2d mode. It take 5 sec in autocad.

Message 3 of 19
mach9design

We have two seats of MDT6 AutoCAD 2002 32bit running in Windows XP – I have used Inventor 5 and tried Inventor 2010 on a 30 day trial: It’s very pretty to use “A bit like a crayoning package” OK it has its advantage with rendering and creating photo-like images, but I want engineering drawings.