Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya 2014 - Save, Open, Import, and Export dialogue window missing

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
marco.justo
2158 Views, 7 Replies

Maya 2014 - Save, Open, Import, and Export dialogue window missing

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to Maya so please bear with me.

I'm experiencing a strange problem as the usual dialogue windows are now missing. And I mean missing as they simply don't show up when I select the option on the File menu. No error messages no nothing. Then when I click on the Maya main window I can't interact with it as if there's a dialogue window open. If the dialogue window is indeed open and obfuscated, I don't know how to bring it to the front. I'm using a single monitor.

Am I missing something?

Cheers.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
n8skow
in reply to: marco.justo

When you first start Maya - are you getting any error messages in the script edtior?

Have you tried removing your preferences files?

Message 3 of 8
marco.justo
in reply to: n8skow

Like I said, no error messages whatsoever either before or after the program becomes unresponsive.
I deleted the preferences files and eventually the maya folder in my documents to no effect. Repaired installation to no effect.
Eventually I uninstalled maya and deleted all remaining files in the App data folder and maya registry entries.
After a new install it started working properly.

This was some weird bug. Basically any dialogue box that involved browsing the file system would make the program unresponsive. I hope it doesn't appear again.
Message 4 of 8
drbrandtjr
in reply to: marco.justo