Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

F2 Rename in Browser and objects

F2 Rename in Browser and objects

The common keyboard shortcut for renaming in Windows Explorer, Excel and most other Windows applications is the F2 key.  While I recognize that F2 is used for Pan (by some), it is not used in the context of the browser or edit boxes that contain strings.

Support for F2 rename CAN be implemented without having to remove the F2 / Pan definition.

I have been using Inventor for about 14 years and still find myself hitting F2 to rename nodes in the browser.

11 Comments
sam_m
Advisor

I touched on this in my request for more Excel-like tables:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Make-Tables-similar-to-Excel/idi-p/3748263

But, as you have said, a global F2=rename/text-edit would be great.

Guess it's all part and parcel of improving the entire interface to be more in keeping with Windows (and Office).

jletcher
Advisor

For some reason I have to question somethings so don't get all  mad at me for being the devils advocate.

If you have to move your mouse to the object you want to rename and click on it then hit F2.

Why do you want another thing to hit rather then just click mouse twice?

cbliss
Contributor

Because to click on it again, often results in nothing.  You have to perform a  slow, methodical double click, whereas if a node or object is highlighted, a simple F2 puts you into rename.  

Have you ever had problems double clicking in Windows Explorer? What if you are on someone else's computer and they have their mouse sensitivity or double click speed set different than what you are use to?

The big takeaway is many of us gotten sucked into the Windows / Office / Explorer standards and expect them to work in all applications.  As originally pointed out, it doesn't mean you have to Undefine the F2 for pan, only add context intelligence to nodes / names...

jletcher
Advisor