cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Allow locking a View Representation AND keeping associative links

Allow locking a View Representation AND keeping associative links

Lock and keep associative links.png

The short and sweet:

We should be able to lock a View Representation so new components added to the main assembly and to unassociative sub-assemblies won't be added to the View Rep, but associative View Rep links will be retained.

The explanation:

Say I have a master assembly with several sub-assemblies. I have a View Rep in my master assembly which I'm using for a drawing. One of the sub-assemblies is likely to change (it might be a piping assembly, for example) and I always want my drawing to reflect its most recent state. So, I've set the sub-assembly's View Representation to "Default" and checked "Associative". This is great.

However, in this drawing, I don't want new components that I add to the master assembly and the other sub-assemblies to show up, because I'm already showing precisely the sub-assemblies and parts that I want to be in the drawing.

So, I go to lock my master assembly's View Representation so new components won't show up... only to find that in order to do so, I also have to "remove all associative links". Why?? This is completely unnecessary. We should be able to lock a View Representation so new components added to the main assembly and to unassociative sub-assemblies won't be added to the View Rep, but associative View Rep links will be retained.

28 Comments
asiu
Advocate

When adding parts to an assembly, I would like to have a choice to add that part to:

-all view representations (the current behaviour)

-selected view representations

-the current view representation only

It is very time consuming to have to update each of the view representations manually. This has a potential cascade effect for presentation and drawing files.

Thank you.

Tags (2)
Anonymous
Not applicable