Inventor General

Reply
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 1 of 29 (706 Views)

why I rant

706 Views, 28 Replies
08-07-2012 01:04 PM

Here is a prime example of the reason I rant about new interface...

 

I know this has nothing to do with the new interface but does it. all the time they screwed with the new interface they could have been fixing this kind of stuff.

WTF.JPG

You want a new interface get inventor to work with less bugs oh I know you can't get rid of all the bugs or can you?

 

To move forward without fixing the issues you have.

 

So if I offend any of the users in the fourms I am sorry but when I am working hard and need to do something and Inventor does not and then a new Interface comes into play but yet the bug that was in the old release is never fixed this is why they want you on subscription so maybe some day in the next 200 releases this bug in 2011 may get fixed.

 

OK I'm done.....

 

Any one know what pic is here?

 

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,780
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 29 (697 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-07-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: jletcher

Hi  jletcher,

 

I suspect your help files did not install correctly due to profiles, permissions, or something of that kind. I don't think what you're seeing is typical of all Inventor installs. I'd suggest posting on the Installation & Licensing forum to see if there is a known issue with help installs for your version:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 3 of 29 (692 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-07-2012 01:21 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

This is that local help you had me load in my post about help file.

 

I have all permissions when I load Inventor and this was a new CPU well 4 new machines and they all are the same way no virus protection no spyware out of box did all they said to do in the install section.

 

Half the help shows a red X or it says cannot display.

 

In 2004-2005-2006-2007-2008-2009-2010 I never had this kind of issues this started when they decided to do this wiki help.

 

I will post in there..

 

Again sorry for rant....


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,780
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 4 of 29 (687 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-07-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: jletcher

Hi  jletcher,

 

Yeah, the fact that the online files weren't working and now the local files aren't either makes me suspect that something is getting blocked.

 

I found this link, it's for a different product, but this is the kind of thing that I would think is the issue:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Civil-3D-2012-not-loading-help-files/m-p/306223...

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 5 of 29 (676 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-07-2012 01:42 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Well not sure because so of the things I can't see I can on 2 other machines but not the other and some I can see and they can't.

 

I read what they had not sure if I have a day to un-install and re-install but may have too..

 

can't get anything done if I can't find the code I need...

 

Thanks for the help I know you hate my rants and sorry for them .

 

I guess I need to learn not to rant when I get upset.....

 

Thanks for the reply..


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 6 of 29 (617 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-08-2012 01:00 AM in reply to: jletcher

Technically I don't think you can still call the interface 'new'.

 

The programming help works in 2013, see attached for missing pictures.

 

There are a couple of tutorials on mcadForums regarding these VBA functions but you will have to request the old link to be fixed. Regardless you can do most of this much easier now with iLogic.

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 7 of 29 (542 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-08-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: Inv_kaos

inv_kaos said:

 

There are a couple of tutorials on mcadForums regarding these VBA functions but you will have to request the old link to be fixed. Regardless you can do most of this much easier now with iLogic.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Not doing VB or VBA, I am doing ilogic but there are few or no samples of ilogic therre is no section telling you how to get this or this does that for ilogic. I was told most of the API samples are the same as ilogic you just have to change a few things.

 

So that is why I was looking at the API or programming help.

 

Thanks for the pics and you proved my point in order to get Inventor bugs fixed you must upgrade. This I feel is wrong and not fair to those that cannot afford subscription or a new seat every year as the fix for the bugs.


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 8 of 29 (517 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-08-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: jletcher

My comments were based on the page that you posted - VBA. This particular help file is only applicable to VBA not iLogic. I agree there should be much more documentation on iLogic. It almost seems like it has been deliberately held back but I think, more likely, it has just fallen through the cracks. There is still significant differences, particularly for new users, between VB.net, VBA and iLogic, that I think could be documented.

 

Perhaps Curtis could include a section in Mastering Autodesk Inventor just for iLogic or extend the series to include Mastering iLogic. I am sure spare time is rare but the demand has certainly increased from the early days of iLogic (where IMO documentation was better).

 

I think based on the software improvements over the time you have to wait between upgrades that it is more economical to be on subscription. What I disagree on is the initial cost of the software since you never actually own it - only rent it.

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Valued Contributor
JohnK_TEDCF
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Message 9 of 29 (496 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-08-2012 08:22 AM in reply to: Inv_kaos

Hey guys! I wanted to let you know that my company offers a video tutorial course on iLogic. We actually have a free iLogic mini-course on our YouTube page if your interested. The mini-course will give you a good introduction to our full course, 'iLogic Made Simple'.

 

http://www.youtube.com/user/tedcfpublishing?feature=results_main

 

If you have any questions about our courses, feel free to ask!

 

John Koop
Software Engineer/ Inventor Specialist
TEDCF Publishing
www.trainingtutorial.com
*Expert Elite*
Inv_kaos
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎07-26-2007
Message 10 of 29 (439 Views)

Re: why I rant

08-08-2012 04:21 PM in reply to: JohnK_TEDCF

JohnK_TEDCF wrote:

The mini-course will give you a good introduction to our full course, 'iLogic Made Simple'. 


Thanks but I think the problem is there really is nothing around that goes beyond what you can't work out on your own by trial and error and help files. The AU class on iLogic Made Simple is no different.

Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube