Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 1 of 6 (347 Views)
Accepted Solution

top assembly blow through BOM

347 Views, 5 Replies
01-18-2012 03:16 PM

I have been unable to get the BOM for an assembly to give me a full bill for my top level assemblies. While the list of top level components is usually what I want, I would like to be able to add another sheet for the top level assemblies that has the full BOM of all piece parts of all the sub assemblies.

     If I start a Parts List and set the drop down to all levels and the next to parts only, before selecting the view I would think it would give me what I want but after placing a list with all the different combonatins selected, my lists ALL look the SAME. WHere do I look to make this change?

 

I am using 2012

 

Thank you

 

Jim

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (332 Views)

Re: top assembly blow through BOM

01-18-2012 08:25 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

You should be able to RMB on the parts list in the IDW, select edit part list, and then click on the + beside each IAM and expland it. This will expand your BOM.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 3 of 6 (302 Views)

Re: top assembly blow through BOM

01-25-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: blair

Yesterday I thought this had solved my problem as I was able to expand the + signs in a drawing to get what I wanted. Today I created a drawing where even though every item was an assembly, there were no + signs. Now what? How can I get this option to show?

 

 

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 4 of 6 (293 Views)

Re: top assembly blow through BOM

01-25-2012 02:12 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

If I am not mistaken (which is becoming increasingly unlikely with age) this would be tied to your BOM settings in your assembly files. Try opening one of the sub-assemblies, going to the tools tab, and selecting Document Settings. From there select the "Bill of Materials" tab and see what it says under "Default BOM Structure".

 

Does it say inseperable or purchased? It may need to be normal to get these to show up. Also, I believe there is a setting when placing a parts list for it to be structured, and then some other options, check those. I apologize I can't be more clear as I am doing this from memory and my parts lists never need to show the "children" under the "parent" sub-assemblies so I am unsure.

 

Hopefully some of this helps. Good luck!

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,780
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 5 of 6 (288 Views)

Re: top assembly blow through BOM

01-25-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: jeanchile

Hi JimSteinmeyer,

 

jeanchile is on the right track. The ability to expand the parts list is controlled in the Assembly BOM. To adjust this from the drawing, right-click on the parts list table and choose Bill of Materials. In the BOM dialog, set the Structured tab active and then right-click on it and choose View Properties, then set the option to All Levels. Once this is done your parts list will have the option to expand, if the BOM structure of the components does not preclude it, as jeanchile mentioned.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 6 of 6 (242 Views)

Re: top assembly blow through BOM

02-08-2012 08:02 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Curtis,

     I finally had another oppertunity to use your sollution for this question. Can you tell that they keep me hopping back and forth? :smileyvery-happy:.  WHen I expanded the bill of one of the sub assemblies it first came in with the components numbered 4.1 4.2 4.3 ect. where the sub assy had been part 4 when assembled but due to sorting in the drawing BOM the sub assy was now part 18. Thus sub assy  was listed as 18 with components 4.1, 4.2 ect. I then attempted to sort the list  but now I lost the indented numbering. Maybe this could be solved by sorting the items in the assembly rather than in the drawing.

     Another issue that I see is that when I expand the sub assembly tie BOM lists the number of components in each sub assembly and not the total needed. When I give a drawing like that to the floor I can guarrentee that they will not cut the correct number of components. Is there a way of getting the qty rto reflect the total number required?

 

Thank you

 

Jim

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube