Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stud & nut sizes

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Greg__Reynolds
2299 Views, 9 Replies

stud & nut sizes

i`ve model a basic part in which i have created 6 wheel studs.I have questions as i am new to the content centre for placing parts in the assembly

a) The studs have a diameter of 15mm.How do i select the correct size nut to fit the 15mm stud

b) How do i select the correct diameter stud in the first place.Are there charts for stud sizes?

Any assistance i would be grateful as i am learning

Greg

Using Inventor 2013

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Paul-Mason
in reply to: Greg__Reynolds

What you have create is a PART FILE NOT a content center item.

You need to use PLACE PART then do a CIRCULAR PATTERN

The part will be locate in the PROJECT FILE that was created  either by you or in the default one.

Have a look at the help files its all in there.

==============
Inventor 2023 Pro
HP Z420 workstation
Xeon 3.7Ghz CPU 8 Cores, 64 GB Ram
64bit (The Garbage known as) Windows 10 Pro
AMD FirePro V3900 (ATI FireGL) (1GB RAM)
=================
Ashington Northumberland (UK) ~ Home to the WORLD FAMOUS Pitman Painters Group
Message 3 of 10
Cadmanto

Greg,

The great thing about the content center is if you have your hole sized properly in your assembly part, the CC

makes an assumption based on that hole size.  So, like I said if the hole is sized correctly the stud will correctly and thus when you go to place the nut and washers those too will size according to the previous hardware.

Understand when you go to place the stud pick the hole to get it to size properly.  Then pick the stud diameter to get the washer/nut to size properly.  Hope this helps you.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Message 4 of 10