Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

rotation-translation not working

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
revitworkbench
1761 Views, 6 Replies

rotation-translation not working

Ok, so I have been trying to get this constraint to work all weekend and it still is hopeless please help! Note I have Autodesk inventor standard NOT the pro version. I am a Revit professional in dire need of learning Inventor. My exact steps are as follows: 1. Open assembly 2. create component - (simple wheel(cylinder) with an off axis hole in the middle so I can see if it is rotating.) 3. create component- flat surface. 4. constrain the cylinder to the flat surface via a tangent constraint 5. constrain the cylinder to the front edge of the flat surface via a mate constraint. 6. go to motion tab in constraint's, click rotation-translation, type in 10in for distance. 7.wheel does not rotate on surface like a wheel should. There is no affect of the surface on the wheel rotation.In other words I want to get the circumferance of the wheel to rotate 360 degrees as it travels pi*diameter of flat surface. What am I missing? please help!
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
gsmith9810
in reply to: revitworkbench

The trick to setting up this constraint is to correctly select both parts. The first will be the rotational part. It should already be free to rotate about an axis and constrained to a fixed face. Then select the translational part by picking an edge representing the axis of translation. Open the attached ZIP. Drag the red "post" on the "pinion wheel" and the "rack" will translate.

-------------------------------------------------------
Gary Smith
Inventor Product Design Suite 2013sp2
Windows 7sp1 64-bit
nVidia Quadro 2000
Message 3 of 7
gsmith9810
in reply to: gsmith9810

Above example done w/2013. - Gary
Gary Smith