Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
str8zstar
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 1 of 20 (1,097 Views)

"The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

1097 Views, 19 Replies
01-15-2013 09:39 AM

Getting the dreaded "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result. Try with different inputs." error. At first it was just if I tried to extrude something (in a weldment currently but seems to do it across the board). It was also giving me the error when I tried to Place a Content Center file. It said it couldn't build the extrusion and gave me a red cross. I'm baffled by this error since it seemed to just start here and there, so I'd reboot IV and it would usually work for at least a while. Now, it's doing it for pretty much every operation I try (except constraints, it seems). Such a weird deal, I wonder if anyone has come across this before? I thought it was a Graphics Card issue from my experience in the past, but could it also be a software issue?

 

I'm running Inventor Pro 2013 on an HP xw8600 Workstation with Windows 7 SP1 64-bit. Intel Xeon 3GHZ CPU, 8 GB of RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600 Graphics Card with 768MB GDDR3 RAM.

 

Any suggestions?

 

I've attached the extruding & Content Center errors as well.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,179
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 20 (1,064 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

01-15-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: str8zstar

Attach a file here that exhibits this behavior.

 

Usual error is cut direction simply needs to be flipped, but your description sounds like it might be a bit more involved than that.

 

Also I have seen behavior similar to this if there is any corrupt geometry within any part in an assembly.

Go to Manage>Rebuild All (usually can narrow down a suspect file rather than having to check every one).

Dragging the EOP up and down forces a rebuild as well.

 

I am betting this is the problem in your case.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
str8zstar
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 3 of 20 (1,045 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

01-15-2013 11:38 AM in reply to: JDMather

It wasn't a specific file but something that seemed to be occuring across the board. It was in just about every file in the project I'm working on. I didn't try a wide sample set to see how far the error went, though I probably should of.

 

Though I don't think it's causing the problem, the project I'm working in is an old legacy "Shared" project type. I know, I know. It was done that way before I joined the company. If I could mass change them all to Single user projects, I would.

 

I know this is kind of a vague question but I put it out there to see if anyone could point right to the cause of the error.

 

P.S. The file I was working on specifically was a weldment .iam. How would I attach that to this posting anyways?

 

Thanks for your help!

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,179
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 20 (1,032 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

01-15-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: str8zstar

str8zstar wrote:

 It was in just about every file in the project

 

P.S. The file I was working on specifically was a weldment .iam. How would I attach that to this posting anyways?


 

Hopefully it isn't a problem with your install of Inventor.
If there is a bad file anywhere referenced in any way by this project then I guessing from past experience that it could be the culprit.
Often the first and easiest step to see if it is a bad corrupt install or if it is a corrupt file is to attach the file(s) here to see if others can reproduce the issue with the same dataset.
The easiest way to attach an assembly here is to File>Save As Pack and Go (strip all of the extraneous stuff out of the resulting folder).  Then right click on the folder and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder. Attach the resulting *.zip file here.  If the *.zip file is too large (>1.5Meg) then open the larger part files and drag the red End of Part Marker to the top of the browser hiding all features.  Save the file with the EOP in this rolled up state (it will be much smaller) then zip and attach.

You other option is to search Google for Autodesk Clean Uninstall instructions and re-install Inventor.  But if the problem is somewhere in the project rather than in Inventor.....
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
str8zstar
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 5 of 20 (968 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

01-24-2013 01:40 PM in reply to: JDMather

Ok, so I've tried a few things in the past few weeks and here's where I sit now.

 

  • I've essentially ruled out the PC being the problem. I just upgraded to a 16GB Thinkpad with a 2GB NVIDIA Quadro K1000M Video Card.
  • With the new laptop, I put a fresh install of Inventor Pro '13 on it as well.
  • Also upgraded to SP1.1 just today.

With each step, the problem didn't occur for the first little bit. Then it gradually started creeping back again. I'm fairly convinced now that it's the files themselves but I don't know what to do. Like I said, I've been working in this project since May 2012 and haven't gotten these errors until just after this past Christmas. Which initially led me to believe it was a hardware issue, not software.

 

I'm attaching an assembly I was recently working in (110070) that consistently gave me these errors. But like I said, once I get the error in one assembly/part, it doesn't matter which assembly/part I go into, the error is pervasive across the entire software. I can't do any destructive or additive operations to the geometry. I can't even import Content Center files when it gets to that point. I have to close down Inventor and restart. And after a while, it will do it all over again. The assembly I attached has two CC steel rod's floating in space. When I first tried to place them it gave me the error, saying it couldn't model the Body of the part.

 

In the attached assembly, I moved the EOP up on several of the parts to get the file size under 1.5MB like was suggested so you'll need to fix that when you open it. Also, one thing I don't think I mentioned in the previous posts was that the company I work for has used Shared "legacy" projects in Inventor since way back when. Every file was made in a Shared project type. No one uses them for what they were originally intended (an early version of Vault), so it's basically just a massive annoyance.

 

I would love, love, love to implement Vault here. I've rolled it out at several companies that I've work for in the past and feel it's the optimal way to work with Inventor across several users. However, the time that it would take to get every one of these files switched to just Single-user project types would take forever. The file structure here leaves much to be desired and unfortunately we're too busy to do anything about it right now. Such is life, eh? I've looked for a program to batch switch the project-types over but have had no luck so far.

 

Any assistance is much appreciated.

 

Regards,

Ryan

New Member
frank.gavilar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-28-2013
Message 6 of 20 (804 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

05-28-2013 12:48 AM in reply to: str8zstar

I'm currently having the same problem. After a while in assembly's and parts my inventor doesn't allow me to create new features or change old ones. It just says "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result." Also while trying to edit features the preview function will not display. This happens to all features I try to use. Untill I reboot the system.

 

Has anyone solved this yet?

 

Start a new sketch in a part.

Draw 2 circles

Exit sketch

Try to extrude the space between the 2 cicles to create a tube.

I can only select the inner or the outer cicle

And it won't extrude.

 

I'm using Inventor 2013 on a HP Z620 Intel Xeon workstation with a Quadro 4000 graphics card.

 

Would really like this problem solved my workflow is in shambles right now.

Contributor
str8zstar
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 7 of 20 (782 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

05-28-2013 06:08 AM in reply to: frank.gavilar

Glad to know I'm not the only one in the Discussion Groups with this issue, though I'm sorry to hear it's affecting you too, Frank. I have spent the better part of 5 months trying to tackle this error, including extensive back and forth with Autodesk's Support department. We think we have the issue narrowed down to a few potential culprits but I'd love to hear the exact setup you have going there. Anything abnormal with the files or projects you're working in?

 

We ruled out my PC (got a new one), RAM (doubled it from 8GB to 16GB) and the install of Inventor (reinstalled 3 different times). I also changed the project type from the legacy "Shared" type to standard "Single User". We then figured it must be corrupted files in the assembly, so I began rebuilding potential problem assemblies. After rebuilding several major assemblies I seemed to get the error less, but still got it after certain assemblies were opened. Once a "problem" assembly was opened, I had to shut down Inventor to clear the error from any file or project or extrude/cut anything in any file or project that I opened in that instance of Inventor.

 

So after 5 months of debugging, testing and rebuilding files, Autodesk still hasn't fully come up with a solution for this issue. My Support Tech did his best and has now handed the problem off to the Autodesk Development team. I'm still waiting to hear back from them. But at least I have confidence that it's a major issue and not something stupid I overlooked or wasn't aware of. 

 

I personally think the error is coming from one of two places. It seems to be introduced when I have an assembly open that has a complex weldment lofted flange in it. I rebuilt this file from the original but still seem to be having issues with it. It's a "transition" shape that is rolled from two mirrored pieces of sheet metal and then welded together. So to model that accurately in Inventor, I did one lofted flange for the entire shape and then cut it in two and saved each half off as a different part number. My Support Tech said there have been issues with doing similar operations in weldments in the past.

 

It could also be coming from some old legacy files that a lot of our assemblies here call out. These files were originally created in Mechanical Desktop and then converted to Inventor .iam's and .ipt's. I rebuilt many of these files in my "problem" assemblies but who knows. 

 

At any rate, just know that Autodesk Development should (hopefully) be taking care of this. I'll pass along any nuggets of info I can glean from them (if they ever get to my issue). In the meantime, let me know if you have anything out of the ordinary going on with your projects or files.

 

Thanks!

Ryan

Mentor
tsreagan
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 8 of 20 (766 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

05-28-2013 06:48 AM in reply to: str8zstar

I ran into the same thing about a 9 months ago,  whenever I activated a particular project, and opened a particular assembly, most of the inventor tools used form then on had errors.  Even starting a brand new part,  creating a simple bisected rectangle and trying to extrude it.

 

I chalked it up to a corrupt assembly, or project.  A restart fixed it untill the suspect assembly was opened again.  Then everything would go screwwy again.

 

So I grabbed what i needed out of that project, created a new one,  and never opened the evil assebmly again.

 

 

The original thread,  looks like an identical problem.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Inventor-2013-Strange-Errors-even-after-re-install/m...

 

T.S.

Contributor
str8zstar
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2012
Message 9 of 20 (751 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

05-28-2013 07:58 AM in reply to: tsreagan

 


tsreagan wrote:

I ran into the same thing about a 9 months ago,  whenever I activated a particular project, and opened a particular assembly, most of the inventor tools used form then on had errors.  Even starting a brand new part,  creating a simple bisected rectangle and trying to extrude it.


 

Yup, sounds about right. It all goes back to a problem assembly. The key will be figuring out what is wrong with these particular assemblies/files that is causing the error. I gave my suspicisions in my reply to Frank earlier. It definitely isn't a graphics card issue (which seems to be what other users are quick to point to). It must just be a 2013 thing as well. I only started to received the errors in 2013. Hoping 2014 will fix these problems!

 

 

Mentor
tsreagan
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 10 of 20 (747 Views)

Re: "The attempted operation did not produce a meaningful result."

05-28-2013 08:08 AM in reply to: str8zstar

The only thing of note, is that my problem assembly was LARGE.  It had a lot of step surface imports, that came in with 5000 or so seperate/complex face entities.

 

If others are only seeing this on large complex assemblies, then that may help narrow the problem further.

 

T.S.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube