Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 1 of 13 (529 Views)
Accepted Solution

number of diags in ladder to reference the length

529 Views, 12 Replies
03-20-2012 08:18 AM

I'm not sure how to do this but I have a ladder designed and it can vary in length from 1m to 4m. I'd like the number of diags to change based on the ladder length. The length of the diag should change to make up any differnce, not the gap between them.

 

File attached

Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 2 of 13 (508 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-20-2012 02:45 PM in reply to: nige106

Would I need to use iLogic to achieve this?

Valued Contributor
cadull_rb
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-16-2011
Message 3 of 13 (504 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-20-2012 03:04 PM in reply to: nige106

See the part attached to my post http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Incomplete-part-update-when-sketch-pattern-count-cha... for parameters that can be used to control the pattern. If you can, only sketch the unique instances and pattern the resulting features.

Contributor
Scotty87
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 4 of 13 (499 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-20-2012 04:13 PM in reply to: nige106

You don't need iLogic to achieve this, it can all be done through parameters.

After modelling the ladder (using a component pattern to specify the amount of diags), give the parameters suitable names (eg. LadderLength, DiagQty, DiagOffset, etc.).

Then in the equation column for LadderLength, type something like this:

(DiagQty * DiagOffset) + OffsetFromEnd

This is assuming the distance between end diags and the end of the ladder are equal; otherwise, just type the required distance in place of OffsetFromEnd.

Keep in mind with this equation you'll be using the diag quantity to drive the length. It can be done so that the length defines the the diag quantity, but this is a bit easier IMO.

Hope this helps. (BTW, I haven't check out the attachement so hopefully I understood your question properly!)

Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 5 of 13 (484 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 04:17 AM in reply to: nige106

Excellent replies. Just had a look through the .ipt cadull_rb posted in his other thread and I found the item I was missing. I hadn't put ceil before my formula which in my case wasn't recognised when I tried using the parameter in the pattern feature.

 

Now works perfectly.

 

One other quick question unrelated, I want to draw a box around a view that finishes against my drawing border. Is it a case of freehanding by eye the end of the line or can I project the border onto my sketch?

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,080
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 6 of 13 (479 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 05:10 AM in reply to: nige106

you can place a point that will snap to the origin of the paper, then use the fix cammand to root that point, then dimension from that point based on your border dimensions.

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 7 of 13 (472 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: stephengibson76

Ahh, thank you, thats worked. The only part I wasn't sure of is where you say use the fix command. I haven't a clue what that is.

Valued Mentor
stephengibson76
Posts: 1,080
Registered: ‎08-01-2006
Message 8 of 13 (468 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-21-2012 06:48 AM in reply to: nige106

fix constraint, like a perpendicular or tangent constraint, the one with the padlock icon.  You need to fix this point because although it snaps to the 0,0 its not really attached to anything

Stephen Gibson



View stephen gibson's profile on LinkedIn


Contributor
Scotty87
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 9 of 13 (453 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-22-2012 02:07 AM in reply to: nige106

Just re-read your question (and checked out the attachment), and realised that I misinterpreted it. Anyway, my attachment shows what I was originally trying to say (made a few errors in my original post).

Valued Contributor
nige106
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 10 of 13 (444 Views)

Re: number of diags in ladder to reference the length

03-22-2012 02:47 AM in reply to: nige106

Thanks to everyone who replied for taking time to do so.:smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube