Inventor General

Contributor
Message 1 of 7 (1,415 Views)

inventor 2012 Unfold sheet metal

1415 Views, 6 Replies
09-12-2012 05:36 AM

I have never used the unfold command before. It seemed simple enough, draw the part, extrude, turn into sheet metal, set defaults and unfold to make a flat pattern. What am I doing wrong? It will not let me unfold. The dialog box comes up, but will not allow me to pick a flat surface or bends....

*Expert Elite*
Message 2 of 7 (1,411 Views)

Re: inventor 2012 Unfold sheet metal

09-12-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: nmetzger

First thing you are doing wrong is using Extrude rather than one of the sheet metal tools.

Extrude is probably fine as long as you follow sheet metal rules (constant thickness, bends and rips).

Second possible mistake is you haven't set your sheet metal style to the same thickness as your extrusion, but you say you have set the defaults - so maybe we can rule that one out.

I'm betting constant thickness or missing bends.

Actually Unfold is not how you create a Flat Pattern.

Unfold/Refold is used to add features that are difficult to do in a folded state.

Create Flat Pattern is for, well, creating flat patterns.

Attach the file here and erase all doubt.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
Message 3 of 7 (1,403 Views)

09-12-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: JDMather

I drew this part in Inventor 2012 and extruded. Set material default to mild steel. Default K factor. Material thickness is .1875, but I believe it defaulted to .2 - not sure why it would not let me change that.

Edited by
Discussion_Admin