Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
SteveX82
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 11 of 25 (1,302 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-11-2011 12:38 PM in reply to: Shawn_79

Thank you for the code and input, Shawn.

 

Unfortunately, I've just discovered that this Visibility/BOMStructure workflow won't work for me either. When patterning a subassembly component, Inventor insists on creating the additional occurences at the "Master" View Rep regardless of the source component's view rep. They can each be manually changed back to the correct View Rep each time the pattern is altered, but this defeats the point of configuring the assembly with iLogic code.

 

Conversely, a custom LOD is "correctly" carried through all pattern occurences. Unfortunately, it goes a little too far and insists on needing a custom LOD at the top assembly level, even if the only component suppression is occuring at a subassembly level. With custom LOD's come a whole new set of drawing-related headaches.

 

It literally seems as though there is no "proper" way to use iLogic to turn off assembly components without manually correcting a myriad of problems afterwards. Are there plans to release a "Just show components the way I tell you to until I tell you otherwise" feature in IV2013?

Distinguished Mentor
swordmaster
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 12 of 25 (1,296 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-11-2011 09:13 PM in reply to: SteveX82

"It literally seems as though there is no "proper" way to use iLogic to turn off assembly components without manually correcting a myriad of problems afterwards".

As previously stated i have absolutely no problems suppressing/unsuppressing assembly components with ilogic , I and my users use this functionality every day

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Active Contributor
Shawn_79
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 13 of 25 (1,286 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 03:21 AM in reply to: SteveX82

It sounds like you are going through the same learning curve we hit about a year ago.  It took some experimenting and lots of research to properly use LOD and view reps.  The custom LOD is really the answer for iLogic/BOM issues.

 

All of our configurable models have a LOD called "iLogic" the drawings then reference that LOD for the drawing views.

 

Can you elaborate on the drawing issues you are experiencing?

 

-Shawn

Valued Contributor
SteveX82
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 14 of 25 (1,284 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 04:25 AM in reply to: Shawn_79

The biggest problem with LOD's is the inability to have an assembly and it's drawing open at the same time. There seems to be a conflict between the activated custom LOD of the assembly, and the Master LOD used in the drawing's BOM. If both are open at the same time, I'll get error messages that stop me from running any iLogic code or saving whichever document was opened last (ie, the ridiculousness that is the "dirty LOD"). I can't imagine that this is a case where Inventor "works as designed", and having only one document open at a time is not a proper solution.

 

Additionally, the assembly will revert back to the Master LOD every time the drawing is saved. I understand that a rule can be written to force the assembly back to the iLogic LOD each time it's opened, but I also view that as a workaround, not an actual solution.

 

Several reps from Autodesk have stated that LOD's were never intended to support component suppression / configurations with iLogic, and I've discovered the same with regards to View Reps. Are we pushing the limits of what iLogic was intended to do, or has Autodesk failed to fully consider that these "configured" assemblies would ultimately be used in assembly drawings?

Distinguished Mentor
swordmaster
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 15 of 25 (1,278 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 06:24 AM in reply to: SteveX82

I do agree that not being able to have a assembly that uses a custom LOD and its associated drawing open at the same time. My users have become accustomed to this limitation. To cut Autodesk a little slack LOD's were around long before they aquired Ilogic , so some compatability issues are understandable, however these should be fixed.

 

For me ilogic "saved" inventor , previously it was very difficult to program intelligent parametrically controlled models.The benefits far outweigh the problems

 

Regarding the assembly reverting back to the LOD , I have never had this issue. In Tools/Application options/Assembly I set the Default level of detail to "Last Active"

That way if the assembly is saved in the custom (ilogic) LOD it will open in that LOD

 

I am not a fan of having a rule to force the assembly to open in a particular LOD. Sometimes it is necessary to open the assembly in the Master LOD and having a rule just complicates matters.

I do not know if you use VAULT , if you do you must open the assembly in the Master LOD to upload files

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Valued Contributor
SteveX82
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 16 of 25 (1,271 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 06:31 AM in reply to: swordmaster

We already have our file-opening option set to "Last Active". It seems that, when populating the BOM, Inventor opens the assembly / sets it to Master LOD / saves the assembly in the background.  Therefore, the assembly opens in the Master LOD when we next open it because it was technically the "Last Active" LOD.

 

Do you use Parts Lists in your assembly drawings? I never had a problem with undesirable asssembly LOD changes until I plopped down the parts list.

 

Our IT department is installing Vault in the next month or two, so I can only imagine the new list of obstacles that will present themselves. Thanks for the heads up about uploading assemblies in their Master LOD....this may be an issue for our planned workflow.

Distinguished Mentor
swordmaster
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 17 of 25 (1,265 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 07:04 AM in reply to: SteveX82

"We already have our file-opening option set to "Last Active". It seems that, when populating the BOM, Inventor opens the assembly / sets it to Master LOD / saves the assembly in the background.  Therefore, the assembly opens in the Master LOD when we next open it because it was technically the "Last Active" LOD"

 

Never experienced this behaviour, my assemblies always open in the last active LOD

 

Yes i use parts lists all the time and again the LOD does not change from the last active configuration

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
*Expert Elite*
swalton
Posts: 1,170
Registered: ‎06-19-2006
Message 18 of 25 (1,252 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 11:12 AM in reply to: SteveX82

Can you go into more detail about why you don't want to use iAssemblies?  Maybe there is a different way to use them to address your needs.

 

I thought I read that you expect vault to be up and running in a few weeks/months.  You might want to set up a test environment before you go live so you can see what effect vault will have on your automation process.

There is are a few limitations with Vault and iParts\iAssemblies: 

1. you can't move the factories or childern of iParts\iAssemblies from one directory to another in Vault.

2. if you make a change to the factory, you will need to checkout, update, and checkin all of the childern of the iParts\iAssemblies

 

I also wonder if the improved copy-design functionality in vault will allow you to make copies of your template assembly (and all drawings, etc), run your iLogic rules against the copy, delete the extra components, and open the copied drawings with the correct quanties.

 

Worth setting up a Vault ADMS on your workstation for testing in my mind.

 




Inventor 2014
Vault Professional 2014
Valued Mentor
rjay75
Posts: 291
Registered: ‎04-14-2005
Message 19 of 25 (1,246 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

10-12-2011 11:34 AM in reply to: SteveX82

Hmm, we have several iLogic template assemblies that manipulate the configuration of designs by suppressing and unsuppressing components. Including components that may be suppressed and unsuppressed in different groups so their quantities will be different between different configuartions.

 

We primarily only have two issues occasionallly. If the assembly and the drawing is open at the same time occasionally there will be saving issues where the drawing is refencing the iLogic LOD but IV wants the assembly to be at master LOD to save. Not always though. Majority of the time it seems to save fine from the iLogic LOD. One thing we've discovered is that modifying the assembly while the drawing is upon is when this error mostly happens.

 

The other issue we occasionally have is while opening the drawing it will revert to the master LOD. But it's not to big of a deal and doesn't happen much. We are using the vault and don't seem to have to much of a problem opening files already at the iLogic LOD.

 

The biggest irritants with LOD seem to happen if you are editing the assembly and a drawing referencing it is open at the same time. Seems to loose which LOD is active and which one should be active.

Distinguished Contributor
sergelachance
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎04-30-2012
Message 20 of 25 (856 Views)

Re: iLogic workflow for suppressing / excluding components

11-22-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: SteveX82

many many worflow on here :smileyfrustrated:

I try many but nothing work for me :smileysad:

I have parameters "TR" in my master sketch "B SKETCH"

but not abble to see this parameter? or it's my rule how have a problem???

 

Sorry for my horrible english :smileysad:  and thanks for your help :smileyhappy:

 

levelofdetail.PNG

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube