Inventor General

Reply
*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 21 of 32 (263 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

09-25-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: mrattray

Well ok but the way I read it.

 

I am trying to use a bit of iLogic to auto fill in the “Title” for the iPart model, that way I type the info once and not 2 times per size change

 

But I am also lost after giving up on why after reading it all still find all can be done in ipart. :smileyhappy:

 

I don't see any reason for excel but carry on... :smileyhappy:

 


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 22 of 32 (260 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

09-25-2012 07:23 AM in reply to: jletcher

I agree iLogic isn't needed at all.

If you create an iPart you're using Excel, even if you don't actually open it up in another window. That's why Excel is required to be installed on your machine with Inventor in order to use iParts. All Swordmaster did was edit the iPart table in Excel instead of the crappy Inventor table editor, where more robust options were available.

The idea of making this "smart" is sort of like why you would want to use one dimension and a symmetry constraint rather than two identical dimensions.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 23 of 32 (258 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

09-25-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: mrattray

Oh ok if thats the case ok but the way I was reading he wanted ilogic to find a cell named title match it with his ipart table name part number to fill in the iproperties Title.

 

When the ipart can have a colunm in the table itself. :smileyhappy:

 

But my reading is not the best yet working on it...... :smileyvery-happy:


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 24 of 32 (256 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

09-25-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: jletcher

I think that was what the OP intended to do...

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
Breeze104
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎01-17-2008
Message 25 of 32 (248 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

09-25-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: swordmaster

Let me re-fraze......

 

How do I now get the cell info to populate the "Title" in the Project dialog tab in the iProps?

Distinguished Mentor
swordmaster
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 26 of 32 (247 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

09-25-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: jletcher

First thing you need to do is to add the Title iproperty to your ipart table using the ipart author interface

open the ipart table

select the iproperties tab

expand the + next to the Summary tab

use the >> button to create the Title column

save and close the interface

open the table again using excel

add the code in the cells in the title column

 

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Distinguished Contributor
Breeze104
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎01-17-2008
Message 27 of 32 (210 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

10-15-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: swordmaster

Well now that I am back in the drivers seat (after being ill and playing catch-up) I just wanted to say thanks to all who helped to figure out and understand what I needed to do.

Distinguished Contributor
Breeze104
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎01-17-2008
Message 28 of 32 (190 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

10-26-2012 06:59 AM in reply to: Breeze104

@Swordmaster 

 

I have been working on your excel suggestion.  The problem I am running into is the fact that when I use the formula for combining the different colums in the "Description" colum it truns the colum red in the table inside of inventor.

 

See pic :  http://screencast.com/t/anUtMqeI3FOx

 

Also, when I switch from part to part it gives me an error that looks like this...

 

See pic :  http://screencast.com/t/tDLEEEMGlKYf

 

Basicly it wants to reformat the output from...

 

7Ga x 12-1/8 x 16-1/8   to 7Ga X 12 1/8 X 16 1/8

 

Not sure why.

Distinguished Mentor
swordmaster
Posts: 537
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 29 of 32 (184 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

10-26-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: Breeze104

The description turning red in the ipart author table is expected behavior. The color is used by Inventor to flag that the value is controlled by a excel formula

Inventor 2010 Certified Professional
Distinguished Contributor
Breeze104
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎01-17-2008
Message 30 of 32 (179 Views)

Re: iLogic & the API

10-26-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: swordmaster

ok... I thought that might be the case, but I thought it would be a different color since red usually means ER-ROR  ER-ROR DOES NOT COMPUTE...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube