Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

complex flow channels on cylindrical part

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
erimdavi
685 Views, 6 Replies

complex flow channels on cylindrical part

I am trying to model the part seen in the picture. I started by wrapping the part in paper and imprinting the lines onto a sheet so that i could create a 2d sketch of the profile, then wrap to face and extrude or emboss with no success. I have tried a 3d sketch and lofting to the root shape, projecting 3d sketches and extruding outward, and i am in the process of trying to cut out the flow channels with the sweep command but this route may take a lot more work. Our company has considered picking up a good 3d scanner and trying that route, but I have never done that before. I am willing to try anything including the scanning route. If any of you guys have any suggestions on how to proceed in the most efficient way to model this part, please advise.

Is this modeling possible without the assistance of some other software?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
dkatz
in reply to: erimdavi

I think your idea to emboss is probably the right route, and tracing the profile is a clever way of doing that.

I'd spend some time thinking about that sketched profile. For one thing, is it equal to or longer than the circumference of the circle? I ask because I bet if it was equal or over, then the wrapping of the feature would run into itself and crash. Even making it .001" smaller in length than the circumference can make a huge difference between a successful feature and an error.

Hope that helps.

Message 3 of 7
JDMather

Attach your initial attempt here.

Geometry topics similar to this have been posted here many many times in the past.