Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
slphantom
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎07-20-2007
Message 1 of 6 (235 Views)

border problem changing size

235 Views, 5 Replies
11-14-2012 06:54 AM

we have been having this problem since last year some time. I am not sure how it got started or why. if you look at the attached jpg you can see that when i open a idw the border is not the same size as the sheet or even the way it was saved last time it was open. I was wondering if anyone else has encountered this? if so how did you fix it. i have expanded all the format borders and such so you can see what we are using.

Scott
win 7 64 bit sp1
cpu intel xeon E5-2687W0@3.106
eight core
two solid state hard drives
32 gig of ram
Autodesk product design
suite premuim 2014 64bit
Nvida quadro 4000
Space Pilot ver. 1.6.2 2010
slphantom (NNTP handle: scottl)
You may recognize me from the
hundreds of previous newsreader posts
I've made over the last 5 years
as scottl

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 310
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 6 (206 Views)

Re: border problem changing size

11-14-2012 03:26 PM in reply to: slphantom

Hi

 

I see that is a custom border, have you tested this with a default border?

 

Naturally if a default border works then there is a problem with the template, try and re-define the border.

 


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 Update 1 Build 159
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 6 (192 Views)

Re: border problem changing size

11-15-2012 04:01 AM in reply to: slphantom

If I recall correctly, when defining a custom border the sheet corners have built-in points from which you dimension your offset.  Sounds as if your border definition lost its dimensional constraint to the edge of the sheet.

 

If you can't track it down, perhaps you could post your template file and someone might be able to figure it out.

Distinguished Contributor
slphantom
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎07-20-2007
Message 4 of 6 (184 Views)

Re: border problem changing size

11-15-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: sbixler

I just checked and all the edges were dimensioned from the corners. I do have the "file name and path"  inserted in the lower left hand corner that was dimensioned from the the border edge not the point so I fixed that. When we see this we just change to a different size sheet then back to the size we want and it fixes it. Attached is our idw we use for everything. It has a lot of custom iprops that fill in automatically when we insert a part for detailing.

Scott
win 7 64 bit sp1
cpu intel xeon E5-2687W0@3.106
eight core
two solid state hard drives
32 gig of ram
Autodesk product design
suite premuim 2014 64bit
Nvida quadro 4000
Space Pilot ver. 1.6.2 2010
slphantom (NNTP handle: scottl)
You may recognize me from the
hundreds of previous newsreader posts
I've made over the last 5 years
as scottl

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 310
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 5 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: border problem changing size

11-15-2012 03:54 PM in reply to: slphantom

Hi

 

I quickly made a new border for you.

 

Try it and let me know.


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 Update 1 Build 159
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.
Distinguished Contributor
slphantom
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎07-20-2007
Message 6 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: border problem changing size

01-08-2013 04:34 AM in reply to: rhasell

I found that if you change the name of the idw file or move it from your hard drive to the network (which would also change the path/name in the lower left corner) it creates this problem. So it is the <file name and path> that I have in the border causing this problem. I would still like to have that so I wonder if there is a way to do this?

Scott
win 7 64 bit sp1
cpu intel xeon E5-2687W0@3.106
eight core
two solid state hard drives
32 gig of ram
Autodesk product design
suite premuim 2014 64bit
Nvida quadro 4000
Space Pilot ver. 1.6.2 2010
slphantom (NNTP handle: scottl)
You may recognize me from the
hundreds of previous newsreader posts
I've made over the last 5 years
as scottl

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube