Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
mwhite
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-20-2011
Message 1 of 7 (190 Views)
Accepted Solution

bolted connections won't highlight

190 Views, 6 Replies
01-22-2014 01:01 PM

I've looked for a thread on this and only found one and it hadn't been replied to so I apologize in advance if I'm reposting or whatever its called :smileyhappy:

 

I've created 3 bolted connections without fasteners. When I need to edit one I go to the browser and click on a random one and look for it to be highlighted in the browser so I can work my way through the three until I get the one I need to edit, normally when editing a part or assy I would click on the part and open or use "find in browser" but I don't think I can do that with BC's. The problem is none of the 3 I click on in the browser are highlighted in the window (see screen shots), leaving me to have to go to each individual one in the browser, right click and select "edit using design accelerator " to actually get them to highlight. Now this is just annoying with 3 bolted connections but with hundreds (which would be the case if I used them all the time like I want to) it would be a catastrophe :smileysurprised: . Maybe I'm doing this wrong, If so please advise.

 

As I mentioned I've uploaded screen shots.

 

Thanks in advance for any help,

 

Mike

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,188
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 7 (178 Views)

Re: bolted connections won't highlight

01-22-2014 03:25 PM in reply to: mwhite

Mike,

I get the issue you are having is when you select the BC in the browser it does not highlight in the model.  The part I am confused about is when you say you have three BC's without fasteners.  That means to be that you have three empty BC's in which case what would highlight if they are empty?  Not to mention I didn't know you could have BC's that were empty without fasteners.

What am I missing with this statement.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

 

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
mwhite
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-20-2011
Message 3 of 7 (159 Views)

Re: bolted connections won't highlight

01-23-2014 05:30 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi Cadmanto, thanks for the reply. For some reason I don't quite get we don't use content center for our fasteners, not my call or we would. and yes you can make what at least what Inventor calls bolted connections :smileyhappy: without CC fasteners (see browser bar in screenshot 3), I guess I just assumed when I clicked on the the bolted connection in the browser it would highlight the features its creates for that individual connection. Maybe this is the issue, us not using content center fasteners. When you create a BC can you highlight them in the window by clicking on the browser icon/node? I mean is this your experience? And if so does it only highlight the fastener or does it also highlight the features it creates?

 

thanks,

Mike

Contributor
mwhite
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-20-2011
Message 4 of 7 (149 Views)

Re: bolted connections won't highlight

01-23-2014 09:54 AM in reply to: mwhite
Also we're still using 2013.
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (139 Views)

Re: bolted connections won't highlight

01-23-2014 10:46 AM in reply to: mwhite
The Bolted Connection requires fasteners from the CC, either the stock ones or if you have published your own library.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,188
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 7 (130 Views)

Re: bolted connections won't highlight

01-23-2014 11:11 AM in reply to: mwhite

I have only used parts from the CC for bolted connections and from what I remember, it did highlight in the model when you tagged it in the browser.

Can't say that I remember it showing the created hole though.  Not saying it didn't, just don't remember.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

 

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Contributor
mwhite
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-20-2011
Message 7 of 7 (125 Views)

Re: bolted connections won't highlight

01-23-2014 11:13 AM in reply to: mwhite

thanks guys

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube