Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
ronak104
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-27-2010
Message 1 of 7 (262 Views)

balloons renumbering

262 Views, 6 Replies
01-22-2013 09:44 PM

hello..!!

i am using Inventor Professional, after creating Partlist in drawing, i am giveing auto balloons to part. now i want to renumbering my balloons number sequence, same like AutoCAD Mechanical. any opetion???

i am selecting all balloons and right click edit balloons but it doesnt come up in squence of balloons position. i can over right the value but balloons sequence are un even with respect to its location.

thank you

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 871
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 2 of 7 (239 Views)

Re: balloons renumbering

01-23-2013 04:52 AM in reply to: ronak104

To keep everything in order it is best to renumber the item numbers in the assembly BOM.

RMB on the part list and click Bill of Materials.

Sort as desired.

Then click renumber.

This won't order to balloon drawing position unless you sort the parts to match.

The part list drives the balloons.

 

If you overwrite the balloons to the required position then RMB on the part list you can Save overrides to BOM, this will make things line up once again.

 

You can renumber in the part list but they will become overwritten values shown by blue cells.

There may be times you want this but remember they won't match the assembly BOM or part lists in other drawings.

 

 

 

RENUMBER BOM.png

 

 

RENUMBER PART LIST.png

 

Active Member
ronak104
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-27-2010
Message 3 of 7 (232 Views)

Re: balloons renumbering

01-23-2013 05:15 AM in reply to: ronak104

Thank you for your kind of support...!!!

but my requirment is i want to renumbering my balloons in sequance. which can be possible in AutoCAD Mechanical.

quary.png

Mentor
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 4 of 7 (155 Views)

Re: balloons renumbering

04-07-2013 10:39 PM in reply to: ronak104

This has also come up as a request from one of my customers.

 

I have a drawing with around 80 ballooned items.  My partslist has a filter to only show ballooned items.  My customer would like the balloons on the drawing to be in order, meaning you can read the balloons somewhat from left to right.  The only way I know of doing this presently is to manually change the number of every single balloon.  Any other ideas?

 

Rob

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 5 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: balloons renumbering

04-08-2013 06:40 AM in reply to: RobJV

If you know the order of the parts you can manually reorder them in the BOM and then renumber them, renumber them manually and then sort the BOM, or manually renumber them on the drawing then selefct save overrides to BOM as harco pointed out. You could create a custom field for order, if you know what order they are before start, but the default field for the baloons wld work just as well for that. Either way or whatever program, you are still going to have to tell it the order of the parts.

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,055
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 7 (126 Views)

Re: balloons renumbering

04-08-2013 06:52 AM in reply to: ronak104

I find this annoying as well.  That is why I placed this as an idea.  Check it out and give your support to it.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Reorder-of-Balloon-Stack/idi-p/3796480

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Mentor
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎07-14-2004
Message 7 of 7 (113 Views)

Re: balloons renumbering

04-08-2013 10:02 AM in reply to: swhite

Thanks for the response - I realize I can do that but that is very time consuming.  It would be nice to have some command or other way as Scott points out to do this without a lot of manual work.

 

Thanks,

 

Rob

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube