Inventor General

Reply
New Member
ToGo1919
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
Message 1 of 3 (266 Views)

Would like to use tabs whose dimensions must change based on material thickness

266 Views, 2 Replies
01-24-2013 01:49 PM

 

I make boxes using a Laser cutter out of a variety of materials - plastic, plywood, wood, mdf.  These raw materials all vary in their thicknesses.

 

I would like to use an Inventor workflow that allows me to modify one (or maybe a couple more) values to use the same part and assembly files (based on a given box's width, height, and depth), and then create an output .pdf or .dxf or .dwg or ? that I will import to CorelDraw (.cdr) for printing to the Laser cutter.

 

My present workflow:

 

1. I use the following URL to create a .pdf file for the box design:
http://boxmaker.rahulbotics.com/
I am attaching an example file for a 4" x 5" x 6" box that uses a 1/4" material thickness.
Attached filename is 456 one quarter thick box.pdf

2. I import the .pdf into CorelDraw or Adobe Illustrator to "tweak" the design as necessary for symmetry, etc.

3. I export the drawing to a .dwg format. I am using CorelDraw 5 for this example - it has various versions of Autocad to export as: 2000, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, and some older ones. I have been exporting as 2008.

The attached example file for this is 456 Box Output to DWG.dwg

4. I open the .dwg in Inventor 2012.

5. I copy the sketch of one of the 6 sides of the box to a new part file. For my question here, I will focus on only one of the sides.  For some reason, CorelDraw seems to leave some "noise" along the lines (see attached file noise.jpg).  Because of this, I have to do a bit of trickery.

6. I extrude the noisy sketch and then save the face as a fresh file. I then import this into a new part file which has no noise.

 

7. And here's where I have trouble.  I would like to edit the tab length with very few steps.  I attempted to use Constraints, but received an error that the drawing would be over-constrained.

 

Any ideas on how to approach this?

Thank you in advance,

Tom

 

Valued Contributor
VdVeek
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎09-13-2012
Message 2 of 3 (225 Views)

Re: Would like to use tabs whose dimensions must change based on material thickn

01-24-2013 10:42 PM in reply to: ToGo1919

@ToGo1919, are you related to boxmaker.rahulbotics.com?

Why don't you create your own Inventor models? With iLogic you can create a part that reads some user input for the width, height etc. and create the box without the use of the pdf.

Do you have Inventor experience?

Rob.

Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Associate & Autodesk Inventor 2012 Certified Professional.
New Member
ToGo1919
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-12-2012
Message 3 of 3 (199 Views)

Re: Would like to use tabs whose dimensions must change based on material thickn

01-25-2013 07:23 AM in reply to: VdVeek

 

I'm very new to Inventor.  Let me experiment with iLogic and see if it goes where I'm hoping.

 

Thank you for the idea!

TG

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube