Inventor General

Reply
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 1 of 7 (346 Views)
Accepted Solution

Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

346 Views, 6 Replies
02-04-2013 11:53 AM

Is it possible to use other CAD software models in Inventor?


I am creating an assembly and would like to save time and effort and use an engine from GrabCAD. Here:

 

It is a solidworks file which I can open in Inventor 2013, but I don't know the best method to use.

 

Thanks

 

Sean

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 7 (343 Views)

Re: Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

02-04-2013 12:02 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

Yes

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 7 (301 Views)

Re: Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

02-04-2013 08:52 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

Just select File-Open from within IV, select the correct file extension or *.* for all.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
wh
Posts: 396
Registered: ‎12-27-2003
Message 4 of 7 (286 Views)

Betreff: Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

02-05-2013 01:58 AM in reply to: SeanFarr

Sometimes it's not easy, as some parts only come in from import as construction geometry, and have to be re-worked. Results are a matter of luck and user's skill.

This engine is such a sample. Import it, save it with Inventor, and look in Windows Explorer at the thumbnails of the IPTs. Empty ones or showing transparent faces are the critical ones, and not all can be solved easily.

 

Walter

 

*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 595
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 5 of 7 (281 Views)

Re: Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

02-05-2013 02:42 AM in reply to: SeanFarr

While people are saying yes, I beleive there are some limitations to importing Solidworks data.

 

I think Inventor can only import Solidworks data from the previous version, e.g. Inventor 2013 can use Solidworks 2012 (or older) data.  Because Inventor 2013 was released before Solidworks 2013 it isn't programmed with the information to be able to import its data.

 

from the online help:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/1892-Collabor1892/1899-Transla...

Iv 2013 can import Solidworks 2003 - 2012

Iv 2012 can import Solidworks 2003 - 2010

Iv 2011 can import Solidworks 2003 - 2010

 

If you are using a Solidworks release of the same version (or newer) than Inventor then I think the only option is to export to a stp or igs from SW and use that in Inventor.

 

Hope that makes some sense.

 

*edited with version info*

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 6 of 7 (264 Views)

Re: Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

02-05-2013 04:12 AM in reply to: sam_m

I can open the final assembly fine and even do a save into Inventor format. But once I try and open the assembly there is a bunch of un-resolved issues and the models opens but with no data showing.

 

I'm thinking I have to open up each part and sub-assembly and do a save to convert to inventor. Then once I open the the final assembly it might work.

 

I tried importing to step or iges but it failed. Model lost some data and there was some obscurities.

 

I dont need to show all the individual parts in the assembly, can I convert the engine into one solid and maybe then try a save into inventor format??

 

Thanks

 

Sean Farr

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 7 of 7 (257 Views)

Betreff: Would like to use a model from Solidworks in my inventor Model

02-05-2013 04:49 AM in reply to: wh

I opened the parts today and tired saving them and it worked for some reason. The whole assembly and individual files are converted into Inventor parts and assemblies. Not 100% sure what I did differently from yesterday but at least the engine can be opened within Inventor and placed into an Inventor Assembly.

 

Thnaks to all.

 

Sean Farr

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube